0

Trouble Using FeatherM0 Adalogger with Arduino IDE
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Trouble Using FeatherM0 Adalogger with Arduino IDE

by benclaas7 on Wed Aug 07, 2019 4:24 pm

I'm having trouble uploading code to my Adafruit Feather M0 Adalogger. Specifically, my computer isn't recognizing the board is plugged into the COM port. In Device Manager, the device is listed as unknown. In the Arduino IDE, the 'Ports' tab is gray.

I am almost certain that I've done all the set-up stuff properly. I've ran the latest drivers, have the latest Arduino software, and have done all the other set-up stuff specified on the boards page: [https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-feather-m0-adalogger/using-with-arduino-ide].

I'm officially out of ideas for what the problem is. I'm running on a virtual desktop so I'm thinking that may be the problem, although other Arduino/Adafruit boards work with my system. What can I do to ensure that is the problem/what else can I try to fix this issue?
Last edited by benclaas7 on Wed Aug 07, 2019 4:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

benclaas7
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2019 4:17 pm

Re: Trouble Using FeatherM0 Adalogger with Arduino IDE

by adafruit_support_carter on Wed Aug 07, 2019 4:34 pm

Are you using the same USB cable and port as what works with the other boards?

Can you check in Device Manager if any product/vendor id (PID / VID) is being shown?

If plug the board in with USB and double press the reset button, what does the little red LED next to the micro USB connector do?

adafruit_support_carter
 
Posts: 13003
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 2:45 pm

Re: Trouble Using FeatherM0 Adalogger with Arduino IDE

by benclaas7 on Wed Aug 07, 2019 5:19 pm

Double pressing the reset button seems to have worked (sorta). The LED stopped blinking rapidly and began slowly pulsating. The device then shows up in the Device Manage in a COM port as well as in the Arduino IDE 'Ports' select. However, when I went to upload my code, the IDE seems to 'forget' the Port and gives me the error message "Couldn't find a Board on the selected port...". Double-tapping the reset button on the board restores the COM port connection in the 'Tools' tab but attempting to upload code has the same issue that I just mentioned.

To answer your other questions, I am using the same Ports for sure, although before it showed up as either 'COM3' or 'COM4' but this time it shows up as 'COM6' even though it's the same USB connection. I can't confirm that I've been using the exact same microUSB cable because I fried the only other board I have that used a microUSB (the result of a different issue).

Before double-tapping reset, the Device Manager did not mention any PID or VIDs. After double-tapping, it recognized the device as "Adafruit Feather M0 Bootloader".

benclaas7
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2019 4:17 pm

Re: Trouble Using FeatherM0 Adalogger with Arduino IDE

by adafruit_support_carter on Wed Aug 07, 2019 6:02 pm

OK, it sounds like the bootloader is on there and working OK. That's what double pressing reset and getting the red LED pulse is. And you USB cable/port seems good, otherwise you'd get a different blink pattern on the LED. I'd hope you could just go ahead and upload at that point. So not sure why that isn't working.

Here's another trick you can try:
https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-fea ... aq-2704880

adafruit_support_carter
 
Posts: 13003
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 2:45 pm

Re: Trouble Using FeatherM0 Adalogger with Arduino IDE

by benclaas7 on Thu Aug 08, 2019 11:02 am

This appears in red in the debugger window when I attempt to upload, if that helps at all:
[Set binary mode
readWord(addr=0)=0x20007ffc
readWord(addr=0xe000ed00)=0x410cc601
readWord(addr=0x41002018)=0x10010305
version()=v2.0 [Arduino:XYZ] Mar 5 2016 17:46:52
chipId=0x10010005
Connected at 921600 baud
readWord(addr=0)=0x20007ffc
readWord(addr=0xe000ed00)=0x410cc601
readWord(addr=0x41002018)=0x10010305
Atmel SMART device 0x10010005 found
write(addr=0x20004000,size=0x34)
writeWord(addr=0x20004030,value=0x10)
writeWord(addr=0x20004020,value=0x20008000)
Device : ATSAMD21G18A
readWord(addr=0)=0x20007ffc
readWord(addr=0xe000ed00)=0x410cc601
readWord(addr=0x41002018)=0x10010305
Chip ID : 10010005
version()=v2.0 [Arduino:XYZ] Mar 5 2016 17:46:52
Version : v2.0 [Arduino:XYZ] Mar 5 2016 17:46:52
Address : 8192
Pages : 3968
Page Size : 64 bytes
Total Size : 248KB
Planes : 1
Lock Regions : 16
Locked : readWord(addr=0x41004020)=0xffff
readWord(addr=0x41004020)=0xffff
readWord(addr=0x41004020)=0xffff
readWord(addr=0x41004020)=0xffff
readWord(addr=0x41004020)=0xffff
readWord(addr=0x41004020)=0xffff
readWord(addr=0x41004020)=0xffff
readWord(addr=0x41004020)=0xffff
readWord(addr=0x41004020)=0xffff
readWord(addr=0x41004020)=0xffff
readWord(addr=0x41004020)=0xffff
readWord(addr=0x41004020)=0xffff
readWord(addr=0x41004020)=0xffff
readWord(addr=0x41004020)=0xffff
readWord(addr=0x41004020)=0xffff
readWord(addr=0x41004020)=0xffff
none
readWord(addr=0x41004018)=0
Security : false
Boot Flash : true
readWord(addr=0x40000834)=0x7000a
BOD : true
readWord(addr=0x40000834)=0x7000a
BOR : true
Arduino : FAST_CHIP_ERASE
Arduino : FAST_MULTI_PAGE_WRITE
Arduino : CAN_CHECKSUM_MEMORY_BUFFER
Erase flash
chipErase(addr=0x2000)
done in 1.011 seconds

Write 32468 bytes to flash (508 pages)
write(addr=0x20005000,size=0x1000)
writeBuffer(scr_addr=0x20005000, dst_addr=0x2000, size=0x1000)

[=== ] 12% (64/508 pages)write(addr=0x20005000,size=0x1000)
writeBuffer(scr_addr=0x20005000, dst_addr=0x3000, size=0x1000)

[======= ] 25% (128/508 pages)write(addr=0x20005000,size=0x1000)
writeBuffer(scr_addr=0x20005000, dst_addr=0x4000, size=0x1000)

[=========== ] 37% (192/508 pages)write(addr=0x20005000,size=0x1000)
writeBuffer(scr_addr=0x20005000, dst_addr=0x5000, size=0x1000)

[=============== ] 50% (256/508 pages)write(addr=0x20005000,size=0x1000)
writeBuffer(scr_addr=0x20005000, dst_addr=0x6000, size=0x1000)

[================== ] 62% (320/508 pages)write(addr=0x20005000,size=0x1000)
writeBuffer(scr_addr=0x20005000, dst_addr=0x7000, size=0x1000)

[====================== ] 75% (384/508 pages)write(addr=0x20005000,size=0x1000)
writeBuffer(scr_addr=0x20005000, dst_addr=0x8000, size=0x1000)

[========================== ] 88% (448/508 pages)write(addr=0x20005000,size=0xf00)
writeBuffer(scr_addr=0x20005000, dst_addr=0x9000, size=0xf00)

[==============================] 100% (508/508 pages)
done in 0.266 seconds

Verify 32468 bytes of flash with checksum.
checksumBuffer(start_addr=0x2000, size=0x1000) = 3ea
checksumBuffer(start_addr=0x3000, size=0x1000) = e904
checksumBuffer(start_addr=0x4000, size=0x1000) = ef4c
checksumBuffer(start_addr=0x5000, size=0x1000) = bdc6
checksumBuffer(start_addr=0x6000, size=0x1000) = abe3
checksumBuffer(start_addr=0x7000, size=0x1000) = b5d7
checksumBuffer(start_addr=0x8000, size=0x1000) = 7db5
checksumBuffer(start_addr=0x9000, size=0xed4) = 9160
Verify successful
done in 0.074 seconds
CPU reset.
readWord(addr=0)=0x20007ffc
readWord(addr=0xe000ed00)=0x410cc601
readWord(addr=0x41002018)=0x10010305
writeWord(addr=0xe000ed0c,value=0x5fa0004)
Couldn't find a Board on the selected port. Check that you have the correct port selected. If it is correct, try pressing the board's reset button after initiating the upload.]

benclaas7
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2019 4:17 pm

Re: Trouble Using FeatherM0 Adalogger with Arduino IDE

by adafruit_support_carter on Thu Aug 08, 2019 11:22 am

Odd. It looks like it is uploading successfully. I'm not sure why it then gives you that message after the CPU reset:
Code: Select all | TOGGLE FULL SIZE
CPU reset.
readWord(addr=0)=0x20007ffc
readWord(addr=0xe000ed00)=0x410cc601
readWord(addr=0x41002018)=0x10010305
writeWord(addr=0xe000ed0c,value=0x5fa0004)
Couldn't find a Board on the selected port. Check that you have the correct port selected. If it is correct, try pressing the board's reset button after initiating the upload.]


To make sure of your process, are you doing this?
* double press reset to get the slow fade red LED
* com port shows up on PC?
* Load blink example: File -> Examples -> 01.Basics -> Blink
* Pick board: Tools -> Board -> Adafruit Feather M0
* Pick port: Tools -> Port -> the one that says "Adafruit Feather M0"
* Upload: click arrow button


Even though you get that message about "Couldn't find a Board on the selected port", does it still look like the sketch is running? Is the LED blinking? Try changing the delay() amount and upload again and see if blink rate changes.

adafruit_support_carter
 
Posts: 13003
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 2:45 pm

Re: Trouble Using FeatherM0 Adalogger with Arduino IDE

by benclaas7 on Thu Aug 08, 2019 6:38 pm

Following those steps doesn't work with my program nor 'Blink'. Device Manager, the lower-right corner of the Arduino IDE, and the Port select (for the first part of the upload) all say the board is in COM6.

benclaas7
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2019 4:17 pm

Re: Trouble Using FeatherM0 Adalogger with Arduino IDE

by adafruit_support_carter on Thu Aug 08, 2019 6:43 pm

Is this repeatable?
Double pressing the reset button seems to have worked (sorta). The LED stopped blinking rapidly and began slowly pulsating. The device then shows up in the Device Manage in a COM port as well as in the Arduino IDE 'Ports' select.


And when you tried the blink example you got the same output in the debugger window when uploading? Where it appears to upload OK, then does a reset, and says "Couldn't find board."?

adafruit_support_carter
 
Posts: 13003
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 2:45 pm

Re: Trouble Using FeatherM0 Adalogger with Arduino IDE

by benclaas7 on Fri Aug 09, 2019 8:48 am

That is all correct.

benclaas7
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2019 4:17 pm

Re: Trouble Using FeatherM0 Adalogger with Arduino IDE

by adafruit_support_carter on Fri Aug 09, 2019 11:45 am

Really weird. Can you post some photos showing both sides of the Feather board so we can check for any obvious hardware issues.

Also, if possible, can you screen capture your Arduino IDE, or just take a photo of the screen, showing all the settings you are using in the Tools menu, like this:
arduino_feather_m0.jpg
arduino_feather_m0.jpg (73.25 KiB) Viewed 128 times

adafruit_support_carter
 
Posts: 13003
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 2:45 pm

Re: Trouble Using FeatherM0 Adalogger with Arduino IDE

by benclaas7 on Fri Aug 09, 2019 11:57 am

I just so happen to have an identical board - which had the same issue when I tried it, so I doubt it's a hardware issue. I can't seem to post my screencap on here, but I can tell you that the tools menu looks identical to yours, with the exception the it says 'Port: COM6' instead of '/dev/tty...'

Like I mentioned before, I'm using a virtual desktop so I expect there may be a latency issue between my machine and where my computer is "actually" located.

benclaas7
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2019 4:17 pm

Re: Trouble Using FeatherM0 Adalogger with Arduino IDE

by adafruit_support_carter on Fri Aug 09, 2019 12:02 pm

Can you try another PC as way to see if it has something to do with the virtual desktop?

adafruit_support_carter
 
Posts: 13003
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 2:45 pm

Re: Trouble Using FeatherM0 Adalogger with Arduino IDE

by benclaas7 on Fri Aug 09, 2019 12:12 pm

I've already tried that and it worked: I just wanted to confirm that the virtual desktop was the problem and not something to do with the settings/set-up on my machine.

benclaas7
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2019 4:17 pm

Re: Trouble Using FeatherM0 Adalogger with Arduino IDE

by adafruit_support_carter on Fri Aug 09, 2019 12:20 pm

OK, thanks. Agree it does sound related to the virtual desktop. Not sure that's something we can troubleshoot. Are you able to just use the non-virtual setup?

adafruit_support_carter
 
Posts: 13003
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 2:45 pm

Re: Trouble Using FeatherM0 Adalogger with Arduino IDE

by benclaas7 on Fri Aug 09, 2019 12:39 pm

Not exactly. I'll need to obtain an actual PC from my IT department, but hopefully that's not an issue.

benclaas7
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2019 4:17 pm

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.