Voting resources, early voting, and poll worker information - VOTE. ... Adafruit is open and shipping.

Errors in moving tilt measurement
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Errors in moving tilt measurement

by Adomaino on Fri Jan 31, 2020 2:03 pm

Hello everyone

I hope it's understood because I don't master English and I'm using the translator. In addition, I am a novice in the world of electronics, so I chose this absolute sensor with the intention that I solved the problem of programming filters incomprehensible to me, so I ask please for the simplest explanation possible.
The problem I'm going to expose is this:

I am undertaking a project in which two servo motors installed on a motorcycle must be moved depending on the inclination of the motorcycle when taking the curves. The material used is as follows:
- Arduino's original Arduino nano board
- Sensor original Adafruit BNO055
- 2 12kg torque motors
The problem I have is that if I perform the tilt movements in static the servo motors move correctly, but dynamically, installed everything on the motorcycle, what happens is that the movements are exaggerated or excessive towards one of the senses of inclination and short as leaning in the opposite direction. Put another way; if the motorcycle tilts 20 degrees to the left the servos are tilted 35 or 40 degrees, but if I then lean another 20 degrees to the right the servo motors move 5 or 10 degrees. Similarly, it is common for the motor to reach the vertical position of equilibrium the servo motors do not position themselves in their central starting position, but are tilted to the side where the movement has been excessive, not being corrected this position until the motorcycle stops or the system restarts by turning it off and back on.