Suggestions for Product Selections

Post here about your Arduino projects, get help - for Adafruit customers!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
wsxmanmd

Suggestions for Product Selections

Post by wsxmanmd »

This sounds simple but in the face of my ignorance I'm stranded.

I am building an instrument mast for meteorological instruments. The purpose of the data collection is gather and publish data for SCCA race teams who can use it for sports car set up. I have extensive experience in meteorology, telecommunications, computer science (now nearly all Linux dating back to 1999 with computer experience back to 1981), networks and auto racing back to the 1970's. But I'm not an electronics engineer. I'm a mathematician and physicist.

I bought a Raspberry Pi 4+ then explored the Adafruit site in depth, discovering the breadth of options offered under Arduino. Now I need to make some choices for my project and it's obvious the Arduino products fit my needs much better. The sensors themselves are not the issue. The basic boards are the issue. Besides data collection of atmospheric information (on a 10 meter mast) I need to communicate with the instruments using wireless (probably WiFi) across a line-of-sight distance of approximately 1/2 mile. I've written code in C++, C, Fortran, Basic, XML variants, Python, Perl as well as others. I should add that I've used Windows (starting with DOS 1.1) Apple Mac back in 1990's and Linux (Fedora, Scientific Linux, and similar variants since 1999).

By reading the learning.adafruit forums I'm more familiar but a little overwhelmed re: product selection. Any suggestions for a start?

Michael

rpiloverbd

Re: Suggestions for Product Selections

Post by rpiloverbd »

Hello,