Arduino Emulator?
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Arduino Emulator?

by IntelliTom on Fri Nov 30, 2012 5:55 am

Hi Guys

I am just getting into electronics and have ordered myself one of Adafruit's Arduino starter kits. However, I'm partially disabled and have to spend a lot of time immobilised. Now that shouldn't stop me from doing some breadboard prototyping, but if it's late at night or my small children are around then I can't be having small parts or soldering irons around. So it popped into my head that there could be an emulator to help me learn the programming side, etc. I currently have zero programming experience, save for a bit of HTML and PHP.

Doing a quick google there does seem to be solutions out there. But I wanted to get some advice on what is good or even if it's worth doing that?
IntelliTom

Re: Arduino Emulator?

by jarruda on Fri Nov 30, 2012 11:16 am

Hey IntelliTom! Fellow electronics newbie myself here, but professional coder.

I think a full-blown Arduino simulator with simple components like LEDs, buzzers, transistors, etc would be a fantastic idea! Especially if it were integrated with something like Fritzing. A quick google yielded the Simulator for Arduino that bills itself (as of the beginning of this year) as the most full-featured simulator around right now, though I saw a couple of others floating around as well at different stages of implemented. Not having used any, I can't comment on any of their usability.