Manipulating welder output with Arduino

Post here about your Arduino projects, get help - for Adafruit customers!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Locked
User avatar
joshuabardwell
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 2:09 pm

Manipulating welder output with Arduino

Post by joshuabardwell »

Thought y'all might like a peek at what I've been working so hard at for the last week or so (and posting questions about).

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XjjPOw8A3uo

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_wYDxnVgQNA

User avatar
adafruit_support_mike
 
Posts: 66616
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 2:51 pm

Re: Manipulating welder output with Arduino

Post by adafruit_support_mike »

Very cool! I think you got featured on the blog. ;-)

User avatar
joshuabardwell
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 2:09 pm

Re: Manipulating welder output with Arduino

Post by joshuabardwell »

Link?

User avatar
adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 86257
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:11 am

Re: Manipulating welder output with Arduino

Post by adafruit_support_bill »


User avatar
joshuabardwell
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 2:09 pm

Re: Manipulating welder output with Arduino

Post by joshuabardwell »


User avatar
joshuabardwell
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 2:09 pm

Re: Manipulating welder output with Arduino

Post by joshuabardwell »

New update.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_UqpZE7ZVeo

The bug in 4T operation that I reference was complicated by the fact that I was using an interrupt handler to detect changes in the torch switch position. Because the bug was occurring in the interrupt handler, I couldn't use Serial.print() to debug it. I spent this morning re-writing the code not to use interrupts, which actually turned out not to be as big a deal as I thought it was, because there were only a few cases where an actual "interrupt" was needed, and the rest of the code could be written as a function call in loop(). In re-writing the code, I found the bug. The issue was that during the "upSlope" behavior, a change in state from not-pressed to pressed should interrupt the upSlope and change state to notWelding. In the notWelding state, a button press initiates pre-Upslope. So pressing the button to interrupt upSlope would basically put us right back into pre-Upslope, because as soon as the code arrived back at notWelding, it noticed that the button was pressed and (correctly) moved into pre-Upslope. As usual, the bug was the code doing exactly what it was told... I re-wrote the code to clear a flag once the button was released after an interrupt, and to only go back into a new welding action after the flag was cleared.

User avatar
joshuabardwell
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 2:09 pm

Re: Manipulating welder output with Arduino

Post by joshuabardwell »

This project has reached "alpha" status. All major features have been implemented and all major bugs (that I know of) have been worked out. The attached video is a brief background, and a full demonstration of all features.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OhBIrnBH ... e=youtu.be

User avatar
albeda1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 8:27 am

Re: Manipulating welder output with Arduino

Post by albeda1 »

Hi Joshua. Videos show as private. any way to see it or some new page to see your progress ? Thanks!

User avatar
zener
 
Posts: 4567
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 2:38 am

Re: Manipulating welder output with Arduino

Post by zener »

Same here. Can't see them.

Locked
Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Return to “Arduino”