Arduino Micro as Fan control?

Post here about your Arduino projects, get help - for Adafruit customers!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
AmazingSpanoMan

Arduino Micro as Fan control?

Post by AmazingSpanoMan »

Hello all. I'm still fairly new to arduino, really the only experience I have had with it is connected to the RAMPS board on my Prusa. Anyway, I'm trying to figure out if the project I'm thinking about tackling is even possible before I go and purchase the parts. It may seem a little silly and I don't really need to do it for any reason other than I want to see if I can.

I have a new Printrbot metal simple and even though I've messed with the POT current the extruder motor overheats. I'm not the only one with this issue but I did find that running a fan (that I mounted to the printer) on the motor prevents the stepper from overheating resulting in skipped and no extrusion. Right now I have a 12V fan connected directly to the power source which means that it is on as long as the printer is on. I could put a switch on it but the purpose of this printer is to bring and show at schools to promote 3D printing and I want to keep it nicely packaged, pleasing to look at and as automated as possible.