Adafruit Industries, Essential service and business: NYC – Executive Order 202.6 - Read more.

Question on what it can do
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Question on what it can do

by Atrum on Thu Jun 19, 2008 1:00 am

So I'm basically new to electronics, I know some things but not much. Im going to get the Audrino once adafruit is opened again.

I wanna know if it can power several LEDs so I can make changing mood lights in my room. How many can it support? Because If I use Red, Blue and green thats already three and if I'd make maybe 7 of these pods it would be 21 already.
Atrum

by trialex on Thu Jun 19, 2008 4:48 am

There are two issues you need to consider

[1] The arduino itself can only power a certain amount of LEDs (or anything else) before you run the risk of damage. When you start to approach the limit, you start using transistors. Transistors act like an electronic switch - with you send a signal to turn the LED on, the transistor turns on a separate circuit. Do some reading of this: http://todbot.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2007/11/bionic_arduino_class3.pdf (page 20 in particular if you've got a short attention span)

[2] You can control up to 21 separate outputs directly using the arduino pins. If you want more, there are ICs you can use that will extend the amount of outputs. Obviously this increases the complexity. Do some reading of this: http://www.arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/LEDDriver and this:http://www.arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/ShiftOut
trialex

by mtbf0 on Thu Jun 19, 2008 6:16 am

trialex wrote:[2] You can control up to 21 separate outputs directly using the arduino pins. If you want more, there are ICs you can use that will extend the amount of outputs. Obviously this increases the complexity. Do some reading of this: http://www.arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/LEDDriver and this:http://www.arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/ShiftOut