Arduino & Temperature Sensing
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Arduino & Temperature Sensing

by Chief Robot on Wed Jun 25, 2008 8:10 pm

Hi,
I'm fairly new to using an Arduino and need to be pointed in the right direction.
My project is to control a small fan or servo based on a temperature reading. Basically if the small room in my basement is too hot I need to cool it down.
I've seen SHT15 temperature sensor over at Sparkfun and thought about using that. Is this a good way to go or are there other temperature sensors that are better or cheaper? Also any hints or code examples would be appreciated.

Thanks!
Chief Robot

by mngrif on Wed Jun 25, 2008 8:21 pm

Chances are driving the fan will be the hardest part since the temperature sensor has it's datasheet right on the site, no purchase required.

Just go through the datasheet and make sure you understand it before you get in too deep. The same with whatever device you'll use to turn the fan on or off.
mngrif

by franklin97355 on Wed Jun 25, 2008 10:40 pm

Arduinos talk well with DS18x20s and they are cheap.

franklin97355

by Silver on Thu Jun 26, 2008 2:36 am

I've had good luck with the LM35, a precision linear temperature sensor.

LM35 Sources: BGmicro.com and Jameco.com Search term: LM35 Approx $1.75

See this previous post.
http://forums.ladyada.net/viewtopic.php?t=5763
Silver

by Atrum on Thu Jun 26, 2008 2:58 pm

You might run into a problem where fans don't really cool down a room, they only push air around helping your sweat evaporate.

The room might be hot enough causing the sensor to go off but the sensor will never detect a change in temperature. So the fan would not turn off.

This would work with a small A/C unit or evaporative cooler, but they already have built in thermostats.
Atrum

by Chief Robot on Thu Jun 26, 2008 7:36 pm

Thanks Silver.
I'll order some LM35's and give your code a try for starters.
Chief Robot