0

boarduino ftdi cable I think i broke it it doen't reset...
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

boarduino ftdi cable I think i broke it it doen't reset...

by josheeg on Mon Oct 20, 2008 8:33 am

boarduino ftdi cable I think i broke it it doen't reset useing the arduino software.
I am running ubuntu linux in sudo su mode.
I pump the reset and it works.
The cable may have been powered by a 9v source to the 5v regultor with the jumper in the wrong place and the cable backwards.

Has anyone else damaged the circuit this way their is a 2009 arduino maby I will snag one of them to see what went wrong...
josheeg
 
Posts: 213
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 8:38 am

Re: boarduino ftdi cable I think i broke it it doen't reset...

by adafruit on Mon Oct 20, 2008 11:58 am

does it work at all? if you gave it 9V then ya it could easily have been cooked

adafruit
 
Posts: 12151
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 4:21 pm
Location: nyc

Re: boarduino ftdi cable I think i broke it it doen't reset...

by josheeg on Mon Oct 20, 2008 12:12 pm

just auto reset seems not to work but the cap has been shorted through trouble shooting so that may have damaged the reset but pumping the reset button still works the software reset is the prob. but not a large one.
josheeg
 
Posts: 213
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 8:38 am

Re: boarduino ftdi cable I think i broke it it doen't reset...

by josheeg on Tue Oct 21, 2008 5:49 am

could it have something to do with the 3v cable? I agree the cable could be broken I did short the cap that was a nono in adafruits page. I was wondering if anyone had trouble with the software reset using the 3v cable.
josheeg
 
Posts: 213
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 8:38 am

Re: boarduino ftdi cable I think i broke it it doen't reset...

by adafruit on Tue Oct 21, 2008 2:03 pm

no

adafruit
 
Posts: 12151
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 4:21 pm
Location: nyc

Re: boarduino ftdi cable I think i broke it it doen't reset...

by madworm_de on Wed Oct 22, 2008 3:04 pm

Hm, I've got the 3.3V cable too. I don't remember if software reset worked with the adaboot thingy as I reflashed it with the standard bootloader (just to test the usbtiny) quite some time ago. I've always had to press reset by hand with this one (I think...erm).
I could test it on friday.
NO LARDO CHIPS
madworm_de
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 6:56 am

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.