M0 Feather and i2c FRAM

Post here about your Arduino projects, get help - for Adafruit customers!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
ironman0917

M0 Feather and i2c FRAM

Post by ironman0917 »

Hello,
I am relatively new to the Arduino community, and have successfully used the i2c FRAM units from Adafruit on a UNO and MEGA, but am experiencing problems with the M0 Feather. When i use the FRAM library, the serial monitor does not work and seems to not even make it to the void setup() section of the example. i did use the #define Serial SerialUSB line and this does work in my other sketches. when i uncomment the lines pertaining to the FRAM library (fram.begin(), etc.) and only leave the Serial commands, i then will get the serial monitor to work, but it just generally seems to fail when used with the library. If there is any help or assistance i would greatly appreciate it as (to my knowledge) the M0 feather does not have any EEPROM or other permanent memory. Thank you.

adafruit_support_mike

Re: M0 Feather and i2c FRAM

Post by adafruit_support_mike »

The Feather uses an ATmega32u4 microcontroller, which has 1k of built-in EEPROM.

The ATmega32u4 also handles USB communication internally, so you have to start the Serial interface a bit differently. Instead of just using Serial.begin(), you have to wait while the firmware for that interface gets up and running:

Code: Select all

Serial.begin( 9600 );

while ( ! Serial ) {
        delay( 1 );
    }
You also need to use different pins for the I2C connection than are listed in the FRAM example code. The Feather's I2C pins are #2 and #3 (marked SDA and SCL on the PCB).

ironman0917

Post by ironman0917 »