Arduino Pin Noise

Post here about your Arduino projects, get help - for Adafruit customers!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
jackal858

Arduino Pin Noise

Post by jackal858 »

Hi All,

I am very new to the Arduino and electronics in general, but have learned a great deal already. I have run into a problem with my first large scale project, and after delving through the code, it seems that my problem is physical.

It appears that my Arduino is randomly receiving inputs into my input pins from something as simple as me grabbing a wire. I believe the pins are reacting to extremely small fluctuations, or simply noise from other input pins. Is there a standard way to combat this (whether in code or something physical to consider)?

adafruit

Re: Arduino Pin Noise

Post by adafruit »

breadboards are noisy
poorly grounded systems are noisy
sticking your hands that are excellent 60hz conductors into your circuits will make them noisy

ziplock

Post by ziplock »

Ladyada's right. The pins even carry small amounts of voltage if they're being read, as you can see if you build the Arduino Oscilloscope.

jackal858

Post by jackal858 »

Hmmm... I understand.

I'm getting noise between inputs also though. Basically, I am trying to build a Simon game with four momentary buttons, and sometimes when I push one, it will trigger another input as well. I've tried changing the inputs to various pins without success. I've just about given up on the project as I can't seem to resolve the random inputs (which kills the game obviously).

Any suggestions? Somehow ground the breadboard? Limit jumper length? Etc.?

mtbf0

Post by mtbf0 »

you got pull ups, (or pull downs), on those inputs? sounds like they're floating.

jackal858

Post by jackal858 »

mtbf0 - I have resistors in line with the buttons which are connected to the input pins.

trialex

Post by trialex »