Due to high demand expect some shipping delays at this time, orders may not ship for 1-2 business days.

Trying to get the FlickrWidget running on Ybox2
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Trying to get the FlickrWidget running on Ybox2

by Fuligin on Mon Jul 07, 2008 8:36 pm

Hi.

I am attempting to get the flickr widget from the ybox running on the ybox2, in the hopes of extending and figuring out something cool to do with it.

Being a complete beginner with SPIN and the propeller chip, I find and run the FlickrWidget from ybox.tv, which of course did not work due to the lack of the x port (this was not obvious to me at first since my friend built the actual ybox2). Anyway, there was something else that seems to be significant: a pattern was drawn in the display buffer that seems to be data, sort of a tall rectangle with a shorter one to it's left and some garble near the bottom. I will refer to this henceforth as the Weird Mystery Pattern (WMP).

So, I created a "frankenstein widget" that merges the FlickrWidget with the api_telnet_serial widget and the driver_socket to replace the x port. It also displayed the WMP.

It worked. Once. The second time I go to connect, I get a connect failure (I am using the LED and piezo to debug). This seems to be due to the WMP being overwritten by the Flickr image.

I think I proved this by writing nulls to the display buffer to clear it and noting I could not even get it to work a single time.

I also set the length of the display buffer to ¾ of max (as a test), so the image would partially paint, yet the WMP would be untouched. This lets me connect a second time, but something is still whacked since I no longer can get the server to return a 200 http code. It seems like the telnet widget works once, and then goes braindead.