0

Ferrite Bead
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Ferrite Bead

by riscphree on Tue Jul 15, 2008 5:03 pm

I am looking to get a ferrite bead for this project, but I was wondering what rating I should be getting?

I haven't used ferrite beads before, but I do understand what they do. My journey though Mouser shows a ton of results, just slightly confused.
riscphree
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 12:53 am

by adafruit on Thu Jul 17, 2008 3:38 pm

the part num for the ferrite bead is here
http://svn.deepdarc.com/code/ybox2/trun ... 2parts.pdf
i think we just went with the cheapest one that was thru hole :)

adafruit
 
Posts: 12151
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 4:21 pm
Location: nyc

by koolkat on Thu Jul 17, 2008 5:18 pm

ladyada wrote:i think we just went with the cheapest one that was thru hole :)


thats the only way to make it affordable....unless its "made in china" :)
koolkat
 
Posts: 358
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 8:42 pm
Location: Missouri

by darco on Sun Jul 20, 2008 3:36 pm

You can skip the ferrite bead if you want. It is primarily there to reduce EMI. I have built two or three ybox2's without ferrite beads and they work fine.


EDIT: I just realized that the advice I just gave was somewhat incorrect. If you don't have a ferrite bead, then use a simple wire instead. Otherwise the ethernet won't work.
darco
 
Posts: 118
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 7:54 pm
Location: Campbell, CA

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.