using 0's in settings.setData

Talk about YBoxen, widgets, Propeller hacking, etc!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Locked
extremis
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 1:13 pm

using 0's in settings.setData

Post by extremis »

settings.setData(settings#NET_IPv4_MASK,string(255,255,255,0),4)

This is an example line from one of the example .spin files. The prop tool complains that strings must be from 1-255. How do I actually use a subnet mask of 255.255.255.0 if I can't put 0's in strings.

extremis
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 1:13 pm

Re: using 0's in settings.setData

Post by extremis »

I answered my own question:

Code: Select all

DAT

MAC            BYTE      $de, $ad, $be, $ef, $ca, $fe
IP             BYTE      10,0,1,2
MASK           BYTE      255, 255, 255, 0
GATEWAY        BYTE      10,0,1,1
DNS            BYTE      10,0,1,5

...

  settings.setData(settings#NET_IPv4_ADDR,@IP,4)
  settings.setData(settings#NET_IPv4_MASK,@MASK,4)
  settings.setData(settings#NET_IPv4_GATE,@GATEWAY,4)
  settings.setData(settings#NET_IPv4_DNS,@DNS,4)

User avatar
darco
 
Posts: 118
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 7:54 pm

Re: using 0's in settings.setData

Post by darco »

Yeah, using the "string(...)" constant was a bit of a convenient hack for representing IP addresses in-line...at least as long as you don't have a zero in your IP address! Unfortunately, Parallax had the foresight of a myopic orangutan when they developed "spin", and decided that no one in the right mind would ever want to put a zero in an inline string constant.

Spin is the worst thing about the Propeller. The hardware is beautiful. The language is BANNED.

Locked
Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Return to “YBox2 (discontinued)”