step size problem with motor shield v2.3 and 28BYJ-48 (5V) s

Adafruit Ethernet, Motor, Proto, Wave, Datalogger, GPS Shields - etc!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
samho123

step size problem with motor shield v2.3 and 28BYJ-48 (5V) s

Post by samho123 »

Hi, I am new to arduino, and I have questions about scaling down the steps per revolution for the stepper motor, because I read the data file of this motor, 28BYJ-48 (5V) stepper motor, and it mentioned that it has 64 steps per revolution, and a gear reduction ratio of 1/64, so does it mean that I can have 64*64 = 4096 steps per revolution? But when I type 4096 in the code for determine the steps per revolutions, it does not have any difference to putting 64 or 200(in the stepper test), so I am not sure what is the problem here, or is there anything that I misunderstood?

The code is Adafruit_StepperMotor *myMotor = AFMS.getStepper(4096, 2);

suppose it is 200 instead of 4096 in the stepper test example.

Thank you very much for the help. :)

Franklin97355

Re: step size problem with motor shield v2.3 and 28BYJ-48 (5

Post by Franklin97355 »

Not sure, someone may correct me but the steps per revolution is for the motor not the end shaft so 64 is the correct value and the shaft rotation you would manage in your code. The variable in the library is a uint8_t which can only hold a number of 255 or less.

samho123

Post by samho123 »

franklin97355 wrote:Not sure, someone may correct me but the steps per revolution is for the motor not the end shaft so 64 is the correct value and the shaft rotation you would manage in your code. The variable in the library is a uint8_t which can only hold a number of 255 or less.
Thank you for reply,
Do u mean the first number I put inside the bracket? but isn't that the number of step?

myMotor->step( 1, BACKWARD , MICROSTEP);