0

atwinc1500 shield on DUE
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

atwinc1500 shield on DUE

by jdelcamp11 on Mon Dec 11, 2017 6:44 pm

Does the atwinC1500 work on the DUE?
I want to upgrade my cc3000 to the new atwinc1500.
I have tested with the breakout version, but it does not seem to work.
It works fine on my uno.
I have do it wired thru the SPI header (not 11,12,13).
no errors, no leds - just hangs at "if (WiFi.status() == WL_NO_SHIELD) "

It may be a problem in the library not supporting the DUE.

jdelcamp11
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 12:30 am

Re: atwinc1500 shield on DUE

by jdelcamp11 on Wed Dec 27, 2017 12:34 pm

Update:
If I comment out the wifi status segment, I can get the check firmware sketch to work.
It reports version 19.5.2
library requires version 19.5.4

When I check the wifi101 firmware update 19.5.2 is the latest one available.

Does anyone have adafruits winc1500 shields working on a DUE?

jdelcamp11
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 12:30 am

Re: atwinc1500 shield on DUE

by jdelcamp11 on Wed Jan 10, 2018 10:16 pm

Was able to update the tools. Updated to latest library 1/3/18.
Still the only example that works is the check firmware.
I have given it its own LM1117 800 mA. So it isn't a power issue.

Can someone at Adafruit confirm if the winc1500 will work on a DUE?
I don't want to purchase the shield if it isn't compatible.

jdelcamp11
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 12:30 am

Re: atwinc1500 shield on DUE

by pbruno on Tue Feb 06, 2018 1:44 am

It does not work for me either. Same board works on MEGA. Hangs on WiFi.status() on the Due.

We need adafruit's feedback on this one.

pbruno
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2016 12:15 pm

Re: atwinc1500 shield on DUE

by pbruno on Thu Mar 01, 2018 7:21 pm

There was a problem with the library, which was supposedly fixed. But I am still having no luck. Works on MEGA, but DUE seems to be stuck.

Can adafruit confirm?

pbruno
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2016 12:15 pm

Re: atwinc1500 shield on DUE

by jdelcamp11 on Thu Mar 01, 2018 11:25 pm

Mine is working now on my DUE. But only if I declare the pins
Code: Select all | TOGGLE FULL SIZE
//*These are the selectable interrupt and control pins for the Winc1500
#define wifi_IRQ    7  // MUST be an interrupt pin!
#define wifi_Reset  5  // These 2 can be any two pins
#define wifi_CS    10
  // Use hardware SPI for the remaining pins
  // On an UNO, SCK = 13, MISO = 12, and MOSI = 11 */
int status = WL_IDLE_STATUS;
void setup()

  WiFi.setPins(wifi_CS,wifi_IRQ,wifi_Reset);
 

jdelcamp11
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 12:30 am

Re: atwinc1500 shield on DUE

by pbruno on Thu Mar 01, 2018 11:37 pm

I apologize... I had the .setPins incorrectly. As it turns out, you do not need to declare these on Due (or MEGA) as they are the defaults in the library.

pbruno
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2016 12:15 pm

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.