Need help for #1411 16-Channel 12-bit PWM/Servo Driver - I2C
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Need help for #1411 16-Channel 12-bit PWM/Servo Driver - I2C

by archnir on Sat Feb 09, 2019 8:20 am

I am starting a project in which saw-dust blast gates in my workshop are controlled by using multiple (7-9) servos hooked up to the Adafruit 16-Channel 12-bit PWM/Servo Driver - I2C interface (#1411) and an Arduino Uno R3. I also purchased an Adafruit numeric key pad (3x4, phone-style) to be used to [toggle] control each servo.

Library-included Servo>Example code executed with no problem and I am trying to include the <keypadEvent> sketch to control each servo-linked blast gate.
I am rather new to coding Arduino C/C+.

What I’d like to know is if there is a function in the servo library, equivalent to the Arduino’s “digitalRead ()” to check the current state (ON/OFF) of a certain servo (pin).
Maybe it’s only me, but the references and example codes have been hard to find. Kind assistances would be much appreciated!

archnir

Re: Need help for #1411 16-Channel 12-bit PWM/Servo Driver -

by adafruit_support_bill on Sat Feb 09, 2019 8:25 am

The PCS9685 PWM chip is an output-only device. There is no way to read the state of the pins. If you can explain what you are attempting to do with that pin state information, we may be able to suggest an alternative approach.

adafruit_support_bill

by archnir on Sat Feb 09, 2019 8:46 am

Thank you so much for the immediate reply.
I practiced with mutiple LED’s with num keypad [without using the servo shield yet]; In that code I used,

Code: Select all | TOGGLE FULL SIZE
< void keypadEvent (KeypadEvent key);
 switch (keypad.getState () {
   case PRESSED:
      if (key = ‘1’) {
        digitalWrite (9, !digitalRead (9)) ;
      {
     if (key = ‘2’) {
       digitalWrite (10, !digitalRead (10)) ;
      {
//and so on...
    break;

case RELEASED: