nxp precision 9Dof Breakout BUNNY tutorial missing info
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

nxp precision 9Dof Breakout BUNNY tutorial missing info

by enixon on Wed Aug 14, 2019 3:54 am

I purchased a 9 degrees of nxp precision 9Dof Breakout board from adafruit a little while a go and am working through this tutorial. (https://learn.adafruit.com/nxp-precisio ... n-test-usb) the problem arises when I try to run the second script while the first is running. The second script is bunnyrotate_ahrs_fusion_usb.pde and while I'm not an expert in java, I'm pretty sure this script is written in Java, not c++ as the first one is. I get a "'import' does not name a type" error when trying to run it. From some googling, arduino is expecting c++ not Java. The screen shot of the bunny script opened in an arduino idle shows a drop down menu in the top right of the window with the word 'java' selected, suggesting this is some kind of special idle. My idle is a fresh install from arduino's web site and I have no such drop down.

I know it's difficult to write tutorials that everyone can follow but, it appears as if some fundamental piece of info has been left out of this tutorial. If it's a java application why not at least mention it? Secondly, where do I get an idle that runs java code? A quick google turns up nothing.

What am I missing?

Respectfully
elliot
enixon

Re: nxp precision 9Dof Breakout BUNNY tutorial missing info

by adafruit_support_carter on Wed Aug 14, 2019 2:14 pm

bunnyrotate_ahrs_fusion_usb.pde is a Processing sketch, not an Arduino sketch. See here:
https://learn.adafruit.com/nxp-precisio ... -data-6-10

adafruit_support_carter

by enixon on Wed Aug 14, 2019 8:09 pm

Ok, Yes I got it downloaded and installed. The processing idle looks remarkably similar. Perhaps only a few words explaining what processing is would be useful to include. Thank you for your help.
enixon