Metro M0 express, Runtime Error, Motor Shield V2

Adafruit Ethernet, Motor, Proto, Wave, Datalogger, GPS Shields - etc!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Locked
User avatar
BirgerDeserrano
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2021 6:42 am

Metro M0 express, Runtime Error, Motor Shield V2

Post by BirgerDeserrano »

Hello

I'm trying to drive a stepper motor (Adafruit Stepper motor - NEMA-17 size - 200 steps/rev, 12V 350mA) with a Adafruit Metro M0 express + Adafruit Motor Shield V2.
The shield is powered by a 9V, 2A DC wall adapter to the DC Barrel Jack. See pictures of the setup attached.

The problem is that when i'm trying to import and initialize the MotorKit class:

Code: Select all

import board
from adafruit_motorkit import MotorKit
kit = MotorKit()
I get the following error:

Code: Select all

RuntimeError: No pull up found on SDA or SCL; check your wiring
Doing an i2c scan gets me the same error.

Looking forward to your answers on my problem!
Attachments
235749075_277089243754614_7858982416679327973_n.jpg
235749075_277089243754614_7858982416679327973_n.jpg (204.23 KiB) Viewed 379 times
235801127_577173186981226_7116780049220188056_n.jpg
235801127_577173186981226_7116780049220188056_n.jpg (190.22 KiB) Viewed 379 times

User avatar
dastels
 
Posts: 15662
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 3:22 pm

Re: Metro M0 express, Runtime Error, Motor Shield V2

Post by dastels »

First, make sure the headers and well soldered and seated firmly, paying special attention to SCL and SDA.

The shield has the required pullups (you can see them next to the SCL/SDA pins). It could be a bad connection. I've also seen this happen for no good reason. Try resetting. Try completely disconnecting power and reconnecting.

Try upgrading your CircuitPython if you aren't using the latest (7.0.0 alpha 6 at the moment... you can always reinstall the stable 6.3.0 if needed).

Dave

User avatar
BirgerDeserrano
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2021 6:42 am

Re: Metro M0 express, Runtime Error, Motor Shield V2

Post by BirgerDeserrano »

Hi Dave, thanks for replying. The soldering is well done so i don't think that's the issue. I've reset the metro+shield many times over a period of two days, but keep having the same error.
I now did upgrade the board to CircuitPyton 7.0.0 alpha 6 (and also upgrading all the libraries) but i get the exact same error. Might it just be bad connectors in the shield itself? Or have I fried some connections somehow? I'm thinking of just ordering a new motor shield because i don't find any solution on this and other forums...
dastels wrote:First, make sure the headers and well soldered and seated firmly, paying special attention to SCL and SDA.

The shield has the required pullups (you can see them next to the SCL/SDA pins). It could be a bad connection. I've also seen this happen for no good reason. Try resetting. Try completely disconnecting power and reconnecting.

Try upgrading your CircuitPython if you aren't using the latest (7.0.0 alpha 6 at the moment... you can always reinstall the stable 6.3.0 if needed).

Dave

Locked
Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Return to “Arduino Shields from Adafruit”