General XBee Inquiry

XBee projects like the adapter, xBee tutorials, tweetawatt/wattcher, etc. from Adafruit

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
CP_LCV

General XBee Inquiry

Post by CP_LCV »

Here is the project I'm undertaking:

At a transformer, if there is power, the XBee is to transmit a signal (a number? an analog value? not sure yet) to another XBee. XBee 2 will tell an Arduino that as long as this signal is being received, a relay should be energized. If power to XBee 1 is cut and the signal drops off, then XBee 2 notifies the Arduino who will de-energize the relay until told to re-energize.

I'm JUST getting into XBee (literally just found out about this little guy yesterday) and I'm wondering if the XBee has any onboard memory for such a simple trasmit program or if it still needs to be interfaced with a micro-controller.

adafruit_support_rick

Re: General XBee Inquiry

Post by adafruit_support_rick »

Wellllll.... you can set up a pair of XBees to exchange pin data without need of a microcontroller. It's called pin-passing.

But if I understand you correctly, the XBee transmitter will lose power when the transformer goes off? If so, the status will not be passed, since the transmitting XBee will shut down. There is no "open connection" monitoring with XBee. The transmitter has to actively send an alert to the receiver.

CP_LCV

Post by CP_LCV »

Rick,

So, the relay only needs to be energized when there's system power. There's no monitoring being done (voltage, current, wattage, etc), the XBee is purely a method of controlling this wirelessly so that if the transfer switch and the inverter are not local to one another.