0

no decimal points in ITC
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

no decimal points in ITC

by sc0tt on Sat Oct 03, 2009 10:45 am

I recently received and assembled the kit (very nice, BTW!!!).
everything works great except I can’t get any of the dots to
work---the bottom of the numbers or the “PM” dot. I tried re-soldering
all the joints on the tube board and the female header on the other
board. Can you point me in the right direction to get them working?

i can post pics later.
sc0tt
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 10:43 am

Re: no decimal points in ITC

by adafruit on Sat Oct 03, 2009 11:21 am

you can check the schematic, its pin H that you're missing either on the main PCB or in the path to the VFD

adafruit
 
Posts: 12151
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 4:21 pm
Location: nyc

Re: no decimal points in ITC

by sc0tt on Sat Oct 03, 2009 8:15 pm

i hit all the solder joints again on both headers, the tube, and the 28-PLCC socket. still no decimal points or PM indicator :(
sc0tt
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 10:43 am

Re: no decimal points in ITC

by adafruit on Sat Oct 03, 2009 8:37 pm

you can check the schematic, its pin H that you're missing either on the main PCB or in the path to the VFD

adafruit
 
Posts: 12151
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 4:21 pm
Location: nyc

Re: no decimal points in ITC

by sc0tt on Sun Oct 04, 2009 8:05 am

adafruit wrote:you can check the schematic, its pin H that you're missing either on the main PCB or in the path to the VFD



yes, thank you. i read that the first time :D

i'm saying i didn't miss any connections-----whats the next thing to check?
sc0tt
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 10:43 am

Re: no decimal points in ITC

by adafruit on Sun Oct 04, 2009 2:30 pm

use a scope to trace the path and find where the connection is lost

adafruit
 
Posts: 12151
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 4:21 pm
Location: nyc

Re: no decimal points in ITC

by sc0tt on Sun Oct 04, 2009 5:15 pm

let's pretend not everyone on this forum has the money to buy an oscilloscope. what should i do then?
sc0tt
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 10:43 am

Re: no decimal points in ITC

by sc0tt on Sun Oct 04, 2009 5:21 pm

actually, f%$# it. i'll deal with it, and just go elsewhere.


thanks, i think :roll:
sc0tt
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 10:43 am

Re: no decimal points in ITC

by adafruit on Sun Oct 04, 2009 8:24 pm

you can also use a multimeter, if it has a 'max' mode that can capture pulses. alternately, you can take the VFD controller OUT and touch each pin of the VFD tube (OTHER than the 5v heater) to ~60V and see it light up. then you can trace the problem back to where it fails

adafruit
 
Posts: 12151
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 4:21 pm
Location: nyc

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.