Voting resources, early voting, and poll worker information - VOTE. ... Adafruit is open and shipping.
0

Monochron timebase
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Monochron timebase

by DMerriman on Fri Feb 26, 2010 5:26 pm

Looking at the schematic, I'm not seeing a timebase other than the RTC. I can't help thinking that the clock accuracy is going to suffer unless there's some real good temperature stabilization happening somewhere. I think it would be better to have an AC input from a wallwart (say, something like from an old modem - roughly 9VAC), and pull the 60Hz off of that; it has truly wonderful long-term stability and accuracy. Then, if power is lost, switch over to the less accurate RTC for the (hopefully) short period of time needed to get mains power back.
DMerriman
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2009 3:30 pm

Re: Monochron timebase

by adafruit on Fri Feb 26, 2010 6:24 pm

The wall adapter is DC not AC (so that it works in 220V or 120V countries)
you can fit a TCXO such as the ChronoDot from macetech, theres space for it!

adafruit
 
Posts: 12151
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 4:21 pm
Location: nyc

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.