Black Lives Matter - Action and Equality. ... Adafruit is open and shipping.
0

Ice Tube Inactive Digit-fixed thx
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Ice Tube Inactive Digit-fixed thx

by Rabbitfrog on Wed Oct 15, 2014 10:35 pm

Soldered everything according to the sheet. All tests passed. After making the case realized the digit showing the minutes is missing. Everything else works, set the alarm, set the zone. The clock works fine with the ghost digit an hour elapsed (just not the right time since I could only guess minutes) it turned over to the next hour. After doing the search saw a similar post but the person seemed to have other problems. So....faulty tube? What are my next orders?

Thanks.
Attachments
icedigit.jpg
icedigit.jpg (997.75 KiB) Viewed 1122 times
Last edited by Rabbitfrog on Fri Nov 07, 2014 8:15 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Rabbitfrog
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2014 10:28 pm

Re: Ice Tube Inactive Digit

by adafruit_support_bill on Thu Oct 16, 2014 5:45 am

A missing digit is usually due to a soldering problem somewhere between the VFD chip and the display. Post some detailed photos of the solder-side of the boards.

adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 78252
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:11 am

Re: Ice Tube Inactive Digit

by Rabbitfrog on Tue Oct 21, 2014 9:31 pm

Hi, sorry for the delay. Here is what I managed to snap.
Attachments
IMG_1307.jpg
IMG_1307.jpg (618.78 KiB) Viewed 1088 times
IMG_1306.jpg
IMG_1306.jpg (451.14 KiB) Viewed 1088 times
IMG_1305.jpg
IMG_1305.jpg (624.36 KiB) Viewed 1088 times

Rabbitfrog
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2014 10:28 pm

Re: Ice Tube Inactive Digit

by Rabbitfrog on Tue Oct 21, 2014 9:36 pm

Oh and the three holes that are supposed to be empty with the space from missing wires in the tube, well I got some solder in them by accident seeing how they are not connected to anything I didn't bother removing it seeing how unnecessary solder adds value, charm and saves a small kitten. But if it's an issue I should address, let me know. Thanks.

Rabbitfrog
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2014 10:28 pm

Re: Ice Tube Inactive Digit

by adafruit_support_bill on Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:58 am

The soldering looks great. No visible problems there. So it comes down to the tube itself or the VFD chip & socket. To narrow it down, we'll try to short that digit to an adjacent one to see if it lights up (we do test these at the factory, but the tubes are somewhat fragile and sometimes get damaged in shipping).

From your photo, it looks like digit 5 from the diagram below is the missing one. That is controlled by the VFD5 signal on pin 6 of the header. Carefully short pin 5 (VFD5) to pin 4 (VFD1) and see if the digit lights.

Image

adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 78252
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:11 am

Re: Ice Tube Inactive Digit

by Rabbitfrog on Wed Oct 22, 2014 7:31 pm

Tried shorting it, but I wasn't sure the which pin is 4. I figured to follow the diagram and use the face of the clock as reference? Anyway I tried both ends and it didn't light up the missing digit. I don't have a pair of clips at home as everything is at work, so I used the screwdriver.

So to double check can you tell me which is pin 1? Is it the one that's closer to the face of the digits (that's the one I tried). Also I shorted directly on the small round PCB and the the side that holds the female header. DO you think I should try to get to the connector or doing it on the solder side is fine?

Thanks

Rabbitfrog
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2014 10:28 pm

Re: Ice Tube Inactive Digit

by adafruit_support_bill on Thu Oct 23, 2014 6:08 am

The solder-side is fine for this test (and much easier to get to!). Pin 4 is toward the back of the clock.

adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 78252
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:11 am

Re: Ice Tube Inactive Digit

by Rabbitfrog on Sun Oct 26, 2014 8:05 pm

So yeah, double checked and nothing lights up for me, the other lights get kind of dim but the missing digit won't come on.

Rabbitfrog
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2014 10:28 pm

Re: Ice Tube Inactive Digit

by adafruit_support_bill on Mon Oct 27, 2014 5:38 am

Sounds like the problem is in the tube itself then. Please contact support@adafruit.com with a link to this thread and request a replacement tube and side board.

adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 78252
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:11 am

Re: Ice Tube Inactive Digit

by Rabbitfrog on Mon Oct 27, 2014 10:55 pm

I don't suppose I can get a connector to go with that board? I am not looking forward to desoldering all those pins :(

Rabbitfrog
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2014 10:28 pm

Re: Ice Tube Inactive Digit

by adafruit_support_bill on Tue Oct 28, 2014 5:34 am

I am not looking forward to desoldering all those pins :(

We wouldn't make you do that. The side PCB replacement kit includes the header: https://www.adafruit.com/product/343

Image

adafruit_support_bill
 
Posts: 78252
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:11 am

Re: Ice Tube Inactive Digit-fixed thx

by Rabbitfrog on Fri Nov 07, 2014 8:17 pm

Thanks guys for super fast shipping, but unfortunately I got obsessed trying to solder the pins to PCB super straight and somehow flipped the pins, just got a new one that I ordered today and finished the build. Everything's fine. Here is a pic. Thanks guys for awesome support.
Attachments
hoorah.jpg
hoorah.jpg (849.45 KiB) Viewed 955 times

Rabbitfrog
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2014 10:28 pm

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.