Programming the ATMEGA328P-AU: 1240 socket and pinout how to

Chat about pick and place machines, reflow ovens, assembly techniques and other SMT tips & trix

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
IWannaMakeStuff

Programming the ATMEGA328P-AU: 1240 socket and pinout how to

Post by IWannaMakeStuff »

I have some ATMEGA328P-AU chips that I'm interested in bootloading and programming using the Adafruit SMT Test Socket - TQFP-32 Breakout. However, I'm new to this and want to ensure that I'm looking at the right Adafruit product for this. Will this program the ATMEGA328P-AU?

The Adafruit test socket I'm looking at is here: https://www.adafruit.com/product/1240

The ATMEGA328P-AU chips I have are here: https://www.sparkfun.com/products/13448

Also, is there a pinout or schematic of the test socket available? The data sheet appears to be missing, and forum posts seem to indicate that information on this is sparse. I'd rather not figure out the right pinout by burning out the first 3 chips. ;-)

adafruit_support_mike

Re: Programming the ATMEGA328P-AU: 1240 socket and pinout ho

Post by adafruit_support_mike »

That socket should work with the chip you linked.

I'm afraid we don't have a pinout for it ourselves, but if I remember correctly, the pins at the edge of the board stay in sync with the pins on the chip as you go around the package clockwise. You should only need to probe three or four connections to get the whole pattern.

IWannaMakeStuff

Post by IWannaMakeStuff »

adafruit_support_mike wrote:That socket should work with the chip you linked.

I'm afraid we don't have a pinout for it ourselves, but if I remember correctly, the pins at the edge of the board stay in sync with the pins on the chip as you go around the package clockwise. You should only need to probe three or four connections to get the whole pattern.
Thank you!