Building SMT Hand-Soldering Skills

Chat about pick and place machines, reflow ovens, assembly techniques and other SMT tips & trix

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
CGrover

Building SMT Hand-Soldering Skills

Post by CGrover »

I've learned a lot and enjoyed watching Lady Ada and Collin solder surface mount devices by hand. Using that information, I've taken on a few SMT projects now and am thoroughly enjoying the results. What a huge difference over the through-hole projects I've been doing for the last (ahem) many years.

What troubles me is that it takes good eyesight and a stable hand to accomplish this type of work successfully, two things that are starting to wane for me now that I've been retired for a couple of years. The technique of soldering the first pin while aligning the remainder is working okay for now, but it requires a lot of concentration to get it just right. I've heard of using a bit of poster tack to hold the component, but I didn't have any on-hand to try. Here's how I solved the problem:

1) Use a good LED magnifying lamp with a 3 to 5 diopter lens. The larger the lens the better, especially if you wear glasses.
2) Forget about circuit board vises and such. Put a small, clean scrap of plywood on the table, then tape your PCB to that using painter's tape. I noticed that Collin did this in his SMT video, as well. I use a 6 x 12 x 1/4 -inch scrap of plywood -- it has worked well for all projects so far.
3) Using a small, narrow length of painter's tape, secure half of the component to be soldered, using tweezers to align the component's leads before firmly pressing down the tape. It's pretty easy to get a nearly perfect alignment in this step. Make sure that the tape isn't too close to the component's leads; you don't want to block your view or burn the tape when soldering.