Black Lives Matter - Action and Equality. ... Adafruit joins the Stop Hate for Profit campaign.

From part-time hobbyist to advanced hobbyist?
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

From part-time hobbyist to advanced hobbyist?

by magician13134 on Mon Mar 10, 2008 7:57 pm

I'm not sure if this belongs here as it's still hobbyist stuff, but it's along the same lines.
Ok, so anyone who reads my posts knows I'm not great at all this stuff, and I like to blame my equipment (or lack thereof). I've been saving up my money for a couple months and have about $400 I'm willing to spend updating my equipment/supplies/work area. I'd really like to be able to come up with an idea at 11pm, have a design done by one, a board etched by two and the prototype finished by four. What should I get to be able to do that?
I've never liked my etching setup, I have about a 10% yield rate. That needs improving. I'd LIKE to photoresist (but that might be a bit expensive, I could probably make my own exposure tank), and I'd like a better actual etching container/tank/whatever is used by cool people.
And when it comes to parts, do I just get a bunch of cheap, random parts to have laying around? How do you organize them?
I want to start SMT too, I suppose a new soldering iron would probably be necessary, my tip is rather large (well, not large, just too big for my clumsiness to be working with SMT parts).

What I already have that I am content with:
A nifty drill press
A stack of FR4 copper clad (unless I do photoresist)
Safety equipment (paper masks, rubber gloves, etc)
That's about it...

I just want to know what I need to be able to really make my OWN stuff. Gotta walk before I can run.
magician13134

Re: From part-time hobbyist to advanced hobbyist?

by adafruit on Mon Mar 10, 2008 8:03 pm

magician13134 wrote:I'm not sure if this belongs here as it's still hobbyist stuff, but it's along the same lines.