📬❄️📦Adafruit Holiday Shipping Deadlines 2019: Please place all UPS 3 Day orders by 11am ET Friday December 13 📬❄️📦

Using a PIR sensor to start a timer
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Using a PIR sensor to start a timer

by Preston727 on Sun Oct 29, 2017 3:34 am

Hello!

This is my first post, and I'm rather new to electronics and these products. My goal is to use the PIR sensor (https://www.adafruit.com/product/189) that upon an object moving, starts a timer. Also, what product would I use to then stop the timer at the end point? I was thinking the one side of the IR break-beam sensor (https://www.adafruit.com/product/2168) would be set up from start at 0 ft mark and the other side IR break-beam to end point at a 10ft mark. The PIR sensor would sense the motion, to start a timer (https://www.adafruit.com/product/813), then the IR break-beam sensor would stop the timer once the object has crossed pass that 10 ft end point mark. If that works, am i able to use this board as a tester (https://www.adafruit.com/product/3314)? Does that make sense? thanks kindly for your time, help, and guidance.

Preston727

Re: Using a PIR sensor to start a timer

by adafruit_support_bill on Sun Oct 29, 2017 6:31 am

My goal is to use the PIR sensor (https://www.adafruit.com/product/189) that upon an object moving, starts a timer.

What kind of object are we talking about? A PIR sensor senses changes in IR radiation. It is optimized for the IR wavelength range of warm-blooded mammals. So unless we are talking people or animals, the PIR is not the sensor to use.

adafruit_support_bill

by Preston727 on Sun Oct 29, 2017 3:00 pm

I would say the object could be either a human or animal. But my main concern, is should I use the IR break-beam sensor or the PIR sensor? Also, would that timer I noted in the last post be of use the way I described it? Or not? Thanks! This building stuff is fun!

Preston727