📬❄️📦Adafruit Holiday Shipping Deadlines 2019: Please place all UPS 3 Day orders by 11am ET Friday December 13 📬❄️📦

DotStar vs. NeoPixel
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

DotStar vs. NeoPixel

by kozman007 on Wed Nov 08, 2017 8:52 pm

I'm a beginner. I'm a singer in a band and will be purchasing 40-45 meters or LED strips for a project. I know the DotStar is better with the refresh rate and persistence of vision. Would that mean it's better for creating a strobe effect having the lights flash rapidly? Also the Neo Pixel RGBW is tempting with how bright they can get but can the DotStar produce just as bright or close to brightness? Seems like the DotStar might be a little easier to use for a beginner being that no there is no strict signal timing requirements. Basically trying to get at if DotStar is a better choice for what I'm looking for.

kozman007

Re: DotStar vs. NeoPixel

by adafruit_support_carter on Fri Nov 10, 2017 2:57 pm

Would that mean it's better for creating a strobe effect having the lights flash rapidly?

Define rapid. How fast do you want this to be?

A third option might be analog RGB strips if you do not want to individually control each pixel color.

adafruit_support_carter

by kozman007 on Fri Nov 10, 2017 3:07 pm

I would like to individually control each pixel color. I was thinking milliseconds. Does that help define it?

kozman007

by adafruit_support_carter on Fri Nov 10, 2017 6:24 pm

That ball parks it. Comparing the two:
https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-dot ... -neopixels
you can see NeoPixels have a 400Hz PWM rate. This equates to a 2.5ms refresh rate. So it sounds like you're wanting to work near the limit of NeoPixel capability. Try looking through the + / - stuff in that link and see if there any show stoppers that would make you lean one way or another.

Also keep in mind that millisecond level strobe rates may not be human perceivable.