0

PI Zero display
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

PI Zero display

by kd4gcf on Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:59 pm

Hello,

I am trying to wire a TFT to my PI Zero. I have given up with the one I have. I would like the "cheap" way to go so which display is recommended. I purchased a 2.8" 240 * 320 which is the size I want. Will I need a HAt if so which one. Here is your chance to make a happy customer, take care.

You may ask why not a HDMI. I am thinking that wiring will save me space and I can have smaller container.

Thank you for your time,
James

kd4gcf
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:15 pm

Re: PI Zero display

by alphanumeric on Wed Jan 25, 2017 3:26 pm

The Adafruit PiTFT are already Hats and prewired to use the GPIO, as far as I know? You just need the custom OS image to make them work? What did you buy? Link please?

alphanumeric
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2014 7:06 pm

Re: PI Zero display

by kd4gcf on Wed Jan 25, 2017 9:43 pm

Thanks for your answer. What I bought is not relevant. I can fight with it another day. I know a adafruit display will not be plug and play but I assume one version is easier to make work than another. I am likely the 1.8 inch with the pins on the back that give you access to unused GPIO.
I want access pins so I can measure with those pins. I am learning so the easier the better starting off. Thanks again.

kd4gcf
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:15 pm

Re: PI Zero display

by alphanumeric on Thu Jan 26, 2017 3:51 am

IMHO In this case bigger is likely better. If I was to buy one it would be the 3.2 or 3.5 inch screen.

If you want good access to the GPIO have a look at this,
https://www.adafruit.com/products/2339
There is also a mini version for the Pi Zero
https://www.adafruit.com/products/3182

Another way to do it is with a stacking header and a Proto Hat. Assuming you have the space in your case
https://www.adafruit.com/products/2310
https://www.adafruit.com/products/1979

To see what GPIO pins are used by your display have a look here, https://pinout.xyz/boards#type=display

alphanumeric
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2014 7:06 pm

Re: PI Zero display

by kd4gcf on Fri Jan 27, 2017 12:42 pm

Thank you, I will know at these chooses.

73

kd4gcf
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:15 pm

Re: PI Zero display

by kd4gcf on Wed Dec 06, 2017 1:38 pm

Hello, I try to be positive. I have a pi zero w. I can not get it to link up with wifi. I searched for an answer in the forum. One think I found was to look at dmesg. I see the contents but do not know how the interpret if my zero's wifi chip is working.

I would have started a new query but I do not know how to do that either. Hope you see this soon.

lee
kd4gcf

kd4gcf
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:15 pm

Re: PI Zero display

by franklin97355 on Wed Dec 06, 2017 2:19 pm

What OS are you running and which version? The zero w needs a recent version to run properly

franklin97355
 
Posts: 17057
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:33 pm
Location: Lacomb, OR.

Re: PI Zero display

by kd4gcf on Thu Dec 07, 2017 11:58 am

Hello and thank you,

Sad to say I am failing in locating that information. What would the terminal command be to find that information? I, it seems, in Raspberry Pi Configuration not be able to country from Andorra either.
I will be a search to answer your question. I really appreciate your interest in assisting.

thank you
Lee

kd4gcf
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:15 pm

Re: PI Zero display

by kd4gcf on Thu Dec 07, 2017 12:14 pm

hello again,

Using uname -a it returns

Linux raspberry 4.1.19+ #858 Tue Mar 15 15:52:03 GMT 2016 armv61 Gnu/Linux

cat /etc/os-release returns:
PRETTY_NAME="RaspbianGNU/Linux 8 (jessie)"
Version_ID="8"
Version="8 (jessie}"
ID=raspbian
ID_Like=debian
and so on.
Does this help?

kd4gcf
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:15 pm

Re: PI Zero display

by adafruit2 on Thu Dec 07, 2017 4:48 pm


adafruit2
Site Admin
 
Posts: 15447
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2005 7:36 pm

Re: PI Zero display

by kd4gcf on Sat Dec 09, 2017 10:52 am

Thank you for pointing to link. I am not savvy enough to understand what the information I am suppose to understand there. I will continue to try to see it.

Lee

kd4gcf
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:15 pm

Re: PI Zero display

by kd4gcf on Sat Dec 09, 2017 11:12 am

Hello, Sorry to ask another stupid question. After much time I found how to post my original question but for the life of me I can not find how to ask a new question. I have a 3.2" 240 x 320 tft and I can not get it to display without overlap. Internet and Sound are displayed on top of terminal icon. I can get to terminal to get to root but I can move to the right far enough to see the full text to make any changes. Oh yes I downloaded the Jesse Image on the product web page so that is where I am. This is why I want to post a new whole question. Ah yes, I do have it connected to a PI Zero :-)

Thank you for telling me how to start a new question or answering it here. Have a great day!!!
Lee

kd4gcf
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:15 pm

Re: PI Zero display

by adafruit2 on Sat Dec 09, 2017 1:48 pm

kd, please post a photo of what you're seeing :)

adafruit2
Site Admin
 
Posts: 15447
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2005 7:36 pm

Re: PI Zero display

by kd4gcf on Sat Dec 09, 2017 4:05 pm

DSCF0012.JPG
Picture of displayed sceen
DSCF0012.JPG (42.31 KiB) Viewed 61 times


Thank you for your interest, I would have thought many of us newbies would have had this question. I hope this helps.

I have tried to putty into it to look at files but alas I failed there too.

Lee

kd4gcf
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:15 pm

Re: PI Zero display

by adafruit2 on Sat Dec 09, 2017 4:23 pm

hmm can you take a shot of the whole display - not just the corner? and did you use the script posted above or are you using a 'prebuilt image'?

adafruit2
Site Admin
 
Posts: 15447
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2005 7:36 pm

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.