PIR to Gemma v2?

EL Wire/Tape/Panels, LEDs, pixels and strips, LCDs and TFTs, etc products from Adafruit

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
btrnuthatch

PIR to Gemma v2?

Post by btrnuthatch »

I'm a newbie. With Gemma v2 I can control Flora RGB Smart NeoPixels running with battery power. I want to initiate power to the NeoPixels with the adafruit PIR. Do I need to use a MOSFET? Or what? I tried to go battery to PIR to Gemma but it won't work so I'm guessing I need an additional component. I hope this makes sense. Thanks.

adafruit_support_carter

Re: PIR to Gemma v2?

Post by adafruit_support_carter »

The basic idea of using the PIR sensor:
https://www.adafruit.com/product/189
is to read it via a digital input. The output of the sensor is 3.3V, so you can connect it directly to one of the digital inputs of the GEMMA. However, it needs 5V power. You can get this off the VOUT pin if you're running from USB. For running off battery, VOUT will be the battery voltage, so need you'd need to figure out how to make that be 5V.

btrnuthatch

Post by btrnuthatch »

Well, I haven't been able to understand/figure out how to get 5V out the VOUT running with batteries.

adafruit_support_bill

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

What kind of batteries are you using? A 3xAA pack is 4.5v, which is close enough to 5v for the PIR. If you are running from 3.7v LiPo, then you may need to use something like a PowerBoost 500. https://www.adafruit.com/product/1903

btrnuthatch

Post by btrnuthatch »

Thanks. I will order and try both. And then I'll be back to report (my success I hope).

btrnuthatch

Post by btrnuthatch »

From batteries regardless of 5v or 7v, the output of the PIR is 1.46 to the PowerBoost 500 that then ups the output to 2.46. Is that all I can expect? This still obviously won't drive the Gemma or Circuit Playground (which is what I'm trying to do). Help please. Thanks.