Raspberry Pi TFT (2.2'') not working correctly
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Raspberry Pi TFT (2.2'') not working correctly

by creatorbyte on Sun Dec 30, 2018 8:35 pm

I recently purchased the Pi GRRL zero kit from Adafruit because I wanted a way to use my raspberry pi wherever I go and not have to worry about needing an HDMI monitor and power supply. I followed the guide very carefully and got everything soldered together. However, when I turned on the pi the TFT screen was just white. I waited for a few minutes before turning it off to give raspbian time to boot but it never changed. I'm not sure what went wrong and I don't know where to start looking for problems. I'm currently an electrical engineering/computer engineering student so I know some basic things to look for. I checked my soldering and even resoldered many of the pins that connected the PI to the TFT screen. I checked the components themselves and nothing appeared to be damaged. I had just used the pi a few hours before connecting it to the TFT so I'm pretty sure it was working. The only thing I can think of is that I might have something configured wrong. I bought the kit directly from Adafruit and I followed the software installation instructions exactly. I even tried a different adafruit library that was not included in the PiGRRL instructions. I remember a few years ago, when I bought a 3.5'' TFT screen, that I had this same problem and it was fixed by commenting out a line in the config file that was not mentioned in the Adafruit guide. I can't remember what it was though. Is this a common problem? is there any sort of documentation on issues like this? The screen itself seems to be fine, I think that it is probably just a software problem.