0

1.54" OLED questions
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

1.54" OLED questions

by avvy69 on Fri Dec 13, 2019 1:01 pm

I bought this:
https://www.adafruit.com/product/2720

on the basis that the i2c address can easily be changed if needed to.
On receipt of the item / kit, there is a capacitor and a 16 pin IC chip included.

First, where on the back of the OLED is the i2c address changed.
Second, can the display be used without either of the capacitor and IC chip.
And lastly, why are there no pinout markings on the board as there are with other Adafruit OLEDs.

avvy69
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2019 8:01 am

Re: 1.54" OLED questions

by dastels on Fri Dec 13, 2019 1:58 pm

The cap is included
as we noticed an Arduino may need a little more capacitance on the 3.3V power supply for this big display


The chip is a level shifter for use with a 5v board like the Arduino UNO. If you're using a 3.3v board, you don't need it.

Read the related guide if you haven't: https://learn.adafruit.com/1-5-and-2-4-monochrome-128x64-oled-display-module/

Also from the guide:
Connect Pin #4 (DC & I2C Addr0) to ground (black wire) to set the I2C address to 0x3C. If this is tied to 3.3V, it will set the I2C address to 0x3D


Finally, as for the lack of markings, this is board is not made by Adafruit, and simply isn't labeled. The guide has all the information on what the connections are.

Dave

dastels
 
Posts: 1662
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 3:22 pm

Re: 1.54" OLED questions

by avvy69 on Sun Dec 15, 2019 1:28 pm

Thank you for the clarification.

I will be using the OLED display with a Pi zero on a 3.3v pin, so I won't need the IC, but the i2c address will be 0x3D. So then connect Pin#4 DC, data/command pin, to ground and that should put the i2c address to 0x3C.

Does that sound right.

avvy69
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2019 8:01 am

Re: 1.54" OLED questions

by dastels on Sun Dec 15, 2019 3:52 pm

Correct, you will not need to use the level shifter chip. Put it in your parts cabinet... they can be very handy.

Also correct, connecting DC to ground will put the board at address 0x3C.

Sounds like you're all set.

Dave

dastels
 
Posts: 1662
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 3:22 pm

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.