Voting resources, early voting, and poll worker information - VOTE. ... Adafruit is open and shipping.

Pixel chaser game
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Pixel chaser game

by Freeheeler19 on Mon Jan 13, 2020 6:43 pm

Hi,
Im trying to make this game https://youtu.be/hjqtJA7gVQ0 on a 8x8 neopixel matrix.
Have been trying to adapt the sketch but somehow that doesnt work.
Im still very new to coding, so maybe this is a bit too advanced for me.
Anyway, i think i learn a lot looking at and comparing sketches, while trying to understand what they actually do.
So really, any help is much appreciated.
How would a sketch for a game like this look like on a 8x8 matrix? Thinking of only using the edge leds....( all around =circle)
Thanks a lot for your inputs.

Regads cyril

Freeheeler19

Re: Pixel chaser game

by dastels on Mon Jan 13, 2020 7:02 pm

The biggest change will be to setting pixel colors. Where Seon uses pixels.setPixelColor, you'll need to set the appropriate NeoTrellis pixel. Probably what I'd do (evening project?) is write a function that takes a position on a virtual 28-pixel ring and a color and converts that to the appropriate pixel around the edge of the NeoTrellis.

Dave

dastels

by Freeheeler19 on Tue Jan 14, 2020 3:10 am

Hi,
Thanks for your answer.
I really would like to do this the exact same way as described in the youtube link above. Just would like to adapt the code to a 8x8 matrix. Because i would like to work with matrices. And not with a neotrellis. (For the time at least. )
Just wonder how you could make only the edge leds shine and then of course get them moving around.....
Any advise is appreciated. Thanks a lot

Cyril

Freeheeler19

by dastels on Tue Jan 14, 2020 10:05 am