NeoPixel button strand flickering
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

NeoPixel button strand flickering

by paulstraw on Thu Sep 24, 2020 12:24 am

Hi there!

First of all, I've been working with NeoPixels for quite a few years now, and really love them. They're so wonderful in both artistic and functional projects, and I recommend them to friends all the time. Thanks for all the great sample code and documentation for so many use cases.

In my current project, I'm running into a very similar issue to the one described by the OP in this thread. I've spent 10-15 hours troubleshooting and testing so far, and don't really know what to try next, so hopefully you'll be able to lend a hand. :)

Before I go into more details of the problem I'm seeing, here's some information about my hardware setup:

* Microcontroller board: Feather nRF52840 Express
* Level shifter: 74AHCT125
* Main NeoPixels: Mini Button PCB
* RGBW NeoPixel test strip: RGBW strip 144 LED

…and a bit of basic troubleshooting info:

* The Feather and bench power supply providing 5v for the NeoPixels have a common ground. The Feather itself is being powered via USB.
* I'm boosting the logic level voltage of the Feather with the 74AHCT125. All its unused inputs are grounded, and its VCC is connected to the 5v supply line.
* I have a 320Ω resistor on the output side of the 74AHCT125, just before the first pixel's input.
* I have a 1000uF capacitor across the 5v line powering the pixels.
* All described behavior has been confirmed with code I've written as well as the Bluefruit Connect app + example NeoPixel sketch.

Okay, on with the problem description.