Adafruit is open and shipping! Let's build back better, together!

No LEDs lit on 64x64 matrix
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

No LEDs lit on 64x64 matrix

by tobobo on Sat Jan 09, 2021 9:26 pm

I have an adafruit 64x64 matrix + Matrix hat with RTC, and after going through the guide I have no pixels lit at all on the matrix. I am a novice with soldering, and I wonder if I somehow messed up the board while doing my initial soldering job—though it appears that all pins are connected and I don't see any obvious shorts.

I'm using raspberry pi os lite on a raspberry pi 400.

I've tried running the matrix demo with options
Code: Select all | TOGGLE FULL SIZE
sudo ./demo -D0 --led-rows=64 --led-cols=64

and
sudo ./demo -D0 --led-rows=64 --led-cols=64 --led-slowdown-gpio=4

to no avail.

I'm wondering if there are some troubleshooting steps I can take before assuming I messed up the matrix HAT. I have a multimeter, but I'm not sure what to be looking for. Does anybody know of some troubleshooting steps I could take, or other ways to diagnose the issue with the display + HAT? thanks!

tobobo

Re: No LEDs lit on 64x64 matrix

by adafruit_support_carter on Mon Jan 11, 2021 12:49 pm

Please post some photos of the HAT showing the soldering job. We can take a look and let you know if that may be the issue. It could still be other things, but that'd be the best first step.

adafruit_support_carter

by tobobo on Mon Jan 11, 2021 10:43 pm

Thanks for the response!

As I mentioned, I'm new to soldering, and I can tell just by looking at it that I did a shoddy job at best—I wouldn't be surprised if I need a whole new board. I was certainly struggling but I tried to get it so that there was at least a connection between the pin and the hole—though I certainly can't say the solder points are shiny or smooth. Thanks for taking a look.

IMG_3958.jpeg
IMG_3958.jpeg (185.08 KiB) Viewed 33 times