Adafruit is open and shipping! Let's build back better, together!
0

Defective 2,8" TFT LCD, Product ID: 1770
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Defective 2,8" TFT LCD, Product ID: 1770

by Tom_Henry on Wed Jan 13, 2021 8:30 pm

I have tried following 2 of Adafruit's wiring diagrams for this TFT LCD, one using Arduino code and one Using CircuitPython code. Both times I have been able to download the codes with no errors, the LCD TFT lights up both nothing. I doubled my soldering and would be happy to send it to you for a replacement. I have done several projects with Adafruit's products and this is the first time I have a defective item.

SPI Wiring and Test for Adafruit 2.8” TFT Touchscreen Breakout V2

1. Followed Wiring Diagram for Arduino Uno R3:
see https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-2-8 ... g-and-test
2. Installed Adafruit ILI9341 and Adafruit GFX libraries
3. Loaded the graphics test to an Arduino Uno R3
4. Sketch loaded OK, TFT lights up but nothing not the screen
5. I then double checked all my soldering and looks perfect.
6. Pressed Reset button
7. Nothing appears on the TFT LCD

I got the same results following Adafruit's Wiring Diagram for Adafruit Feather M4 Express and TFT LCD 2.8. The LCD lights up but nothing comes on the screen.
See https://learn.adafruit.com/micropython- ... a-hardware for wiring diagram.

I would like to return the product 1770 for a replacement LCD.

Tom Henry

Tom_Henry
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2020 8:19 pm

Re: Defective 2,8" TFT LCD, Product ID: 1770

by franklin97355 on Wed Jan 13, 2021 9:13 pm

Please post some photos of your connections with clear shots of your soldering, thanks.

franklin97355
 
Posts: 21701
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:33 pm
Location: Lacomb, OR.

Re: Defective 2,8" TFT LCD, Product ID: 1770

by Tom_Henry on Fri Jan 15, 2021 7:16 pm

I rechecked my wiring and forgot to connect IM1, IM2, and IM3 to the 3 volt source. I just went right to the Wiring section for the SPI mode and neglected to catch the IM1, IM2, and IM3 connections.

Working fine.

Thanks,

Tom Henry

Tom_Henry
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2020 8:19 pm

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.