PiOLED 128x32 Mini OLED Help
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

PiOLED 128x32 Mini OLED Help

by cajeck on Thu Jun 17, 2021 1:50 pm

I'm completely new to using GPIO, so I'm sure I've done something wrong. My PiOLED isn't displaying anything.

I've followed this guide to set up my PiOLED: https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-pio ... y-pi/usage

Circuitpython installation seemed to go okay. Blinkatest.py returned OK across the board, so I know I2c is working.

Here's the thing... I'm using a pibow coupe with a pimoroni shimfan. Those are on the same pins that the PiOLED is supposed to go on. I bought pin extenders and tried putting the display over the fan. The fan is technically on, but not running since it's configured to only spin when my pi reaches a certain temperature.

I shutdown my pi and installed the display. Turned it back on.

When I tried to run the stats.py code, I got:

Code: Select all | TOGGLE FULL SIZE
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.7/dist-packages/adafruit_bus_device/i2c_device.py", line 154, in __probe_for_device
    self.i2c.writeto(self.device_address, b"")
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.7/dist-packages/busio.py", line 158, in writeto
    return self._i2c.writeto(address, buffer, stop=stop)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.7/dist-packages/adafruit_blinka/microcontroller/generic_linux/i2c.py", line 49, in writeto
    self._i2c_bus.write_bytes(address, buffer[start:end])
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.7/dist-packages/Adafruit_PureIO/smbus.py", line 308, in write_bytes
    self._device.write(buf)
OSError: [Errno 121] Remote I/O error

During handling of the above exception, another exception occurred:

File "/usr/local/lib/python3.7/dist-packages/adafruit_bus_device/i2c_device.py", line 160, in __probe_for_device
    self.i2c.readfrom_into(self.device_address, result)