How does the backlight circuit on the 1.3" TFT display work?

EL Wire/Tape/Panels, LEDs, pixels and strips, LCDs and TFTs, etc products from Adafruit

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
bootsie123

How does the backlight circuit on the 1.3" TFT display work?

Post by bootsie123 »

Hi! I recently bought the bare 1.3" 240x240 TFT display (4520) for a project I'm working on and I've been looking at the schematics of the breakout PCB for this display to help guide me with how I should wire everything up. In particular, I'm stuck on how to go about wiring the backlight. I was wondering if someone could explain to me how the backlight circuit worked on the breakout PCB and how I could go about implementing it myself.

Just as a heads up, I am still a beginner so definitely correct me if I say something that's incorrect. Anyway, here's the rundown of what I think is happening in the diagram below.
Portion of schematic
Portion of schematic
Screenshot_1.png (24.57 KiB) Viewed 131 times
We have the backlight pin connected to a 2.2k resistor which is then connected to +3.3V from the onboard voltage regulator. From there, that goes into the anode pin of the LED backlight. The cathode pin of the LED backlight goes into a 10-ohm resistor which I think is bringing the voltage from 3.3V down to 3V with a current of 30 mA (basically now within the operating specs of the LED backlight). This is then connected to a MOSFET as the drain with ground being the source and the backlight pin being ground (not sure if I have this correctly).

Basically, what I'm stuck on is what's happening with the 2.2k resistor and the +3.3V line along with what's happening with the MOSFET. Any explanations would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
Full schematic
Full schematic
Screenshot_2.png (43.91 KiB) Viewed 131 times

adafruit_support_bill

Re: How does the backlight circuit on the 1.3" TFT display w