neopixel power

EL Wire/Tape/Panels, LEDs, pixels and strips, LCDs and TFTs, etc products from Adafruit

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
HunterDarkwolf

neopixel power

Post by HunterDarkwolf »

This might be a bit of a stupid question, and I'm sorry if it is, I'm very new to this. I'm looking at getting a meter strip of neopixels (https://www.adafruit.com/product/1376) and run them from an Arduino Uno R3 board, can I safely power this all with a 9v battery connected to the arduino's power socket, or should I be looking at something else. I ask, because I don't want to damage the strip, and it says not to go above 6vdc, and 5 is the recommended.

adafruit_support_bill

Re: neopixel power

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

A 9v battery does not have the capacity to power a meter of Neopixels. And even if it did, you would risk overloading the 5v regulator on your UNO.

What are the requirements of your project. Doe it require a portable power source? If so, how long does it need to run on a charge?

HunterDarkwolf

Post by HunterDarkwolf »

wanting to do a flame looking setup on an arm (think scorch from rogue company). So portable would be needed.

adafruit_support_bill

For portable projects with Neopixels, I'd recommend switching to a 3.3v processor like one of the Feather series. In addition to being more compact, it will simplify your power requirements.

Using a 3.3v processor, you can power both the Neopixels and the processor using a 3.7v LiPo cell. These come in various capacities and have the highest power density of all the commonly available battery types. https://www.adafruit.com/category/574

The Feather 32U4 is from the same Atmega processor family as the Atmega 328 used in the Arduino UNO. https://www.adafruit.com/product/2771