3W-9W RGB LED + Resistor(s) ???

EL Wire/Tape/Panels, LEDs, pixels and strips, LCDs and TFTs, etc products from Adafruit

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Stapler

3W-9W RGB LED + Resistor(s) ???

Post by Stapler »

Hello All,

I'm just getting into electronics + 3D printing and having a great time with it all. Apologize upfront if this has been answered elsewhere, but I've yet to find the answer. I just received this (https://www.electromaker.io/project/vie ... ight-sabre) kit. The instructions note that the two resistors that should be connected in series are 4.7 ohms. The parts list in the kit has them at 10 ohms, and the ones I received and tested are 12 ohms. Should I still connect two of them in series to get max brightness from my 9 watt LED? Thank you!

adafruit_support_bill

Re: 3W-9W RGB LED + Resistor(s) ???

Post by adafruit_support_bill »

Hmmm. Not the best circuit design. Instead of putting all the resistance on the common anode, there should be separate resistor for each LED - especially since the forward voltage for the red, green and blue will all be very different, so the current will not be shared equally between them.

Do you have a spec sheet for the 9W RGB LED?

dastels

Post by dastels »

I was thinking the same thing as Bill. The different colors will be different brightnesses. But since it's a 3W LED that's well diffused it might not be noticeable.

It's really annoying that I can't see the schematic without signing up, which I have no reason to do. BUT, the picture does show 4.7 ohm resistors. If we go by that then putting them in series would give you 9.4 ohms. So just use a single 12 ohm resistor.

Dave

adafruit_support_bill