Neopixel Library Reference?
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Neopixel Library Reference?

by jflorkow on Mon May 19, 2014 6:11 pm

Maybe I am just blind, but I am looking for a reference listing each method in the Adafruit Neopixel Library, what it does, and what parameters it expects.
Forgive me if this is in some obvious place, but this is my first time using an arduino library and I have never used Github before either.
Thank you!

jflorkow

Re: Neopixel Library Reference?

by pburgess on Wed May 21, 2014 2:39 am

The NeoPixel Überguide runs through the basics of the library:
https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-neo ... no-library

You can also pick apart the code from some of the NeoPixel projects (goggles, etc.) for examples of the library in use.

pburgess

by cbabbage on Mon Feb 12, 2018 9:20 pm

Yeah, I know this is an old post, but the situation has not changed. I have to assume that folks have forgotten what documentation is. In the Unix world, they used to call these things "man pages". (That's sexist, these days, I'm sure...) What's needed is a list of all the function calls (or, maybe "methods" or some other fashionable OO word) that are exposed to the user by the library. Each entry should describe the name of the function call, the parameters it expects, what the parameters mean, what the function returns. There should also be a couple of realistic examples that demonstrate the use of the function. And if you put these entries in alphabetical order, then you have something really useful. It's called a "reference".

For example, looking at the provided example for the Adafruit_NeoPixel library, I can immediately figure out what a lot of the calls do. For example,
Code: Select all | TOGGLE FULL SIZE
strip.setBrightness(BRIGHTNESS)