0

Pygamer
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Pygamer

by rccm on Thu Jun 06, 2019 1:00 pm

Not working. I'm not sure what's supposed to happen, and this may well be user error. However, neopixels at bottom have never lit up, I can't seem to load games that others have made by dragging and dropping, see screenshot for what boot_out says, screen says, "Code done running. Waiting for reload. soft reboot." No idea what to do with that. Using pink Adafruit data cable, fyi. Any help would be great.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2019-06-06 at 9.43.15 AM.png
Screen Shot 2019-06-06 at 9.43.15 AM.png (46.13 KiB) Viewed 1079 times

rccm
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 7:47 pm

Re: Pygamer

by adafruit_support_carter on Thu Jun 06, 2019 1:08 pm

It looks like it's working OK and you currently have CircuitPython installed. That's why you are getting the CIRCUITPY folder showing up. You don't have any actual programs (no code.py file), so there's nothing actually running. The display is just showing the basic CircuitPython boot up info.

If you want to use CircuitPython, you're good to go. Maybe update the version since it looks like you have RC 3 installed. The 4.0 version is now released. More info on CircuitPython in general:
https://learn.adafruit.com/welcome-to-c ... n/overview
and where to get latest firmware
https://circuitpython.org/board/pygamer/

To run a game, like a MakeCode arcade one, you'll want to be in bootloader mode first. Then you'll see the PYGAMERBOOT folder and can proceed as shown here:
https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-pyg ... on-pybadge

adafruit_support_carter
 
Posts: 12964
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 2:45 pm

Re: Pygamer

by rccm on Wed Jun 12, 2019 9:57 pm

Thanks for the reply. So, when I press the reset button, I never have seen the screen pictured in the screen shot here. The Pygamer only ever says "Code done running. Waiting for reload. soft reboot". It's never said or done anything else.

Also, you say that I don't have any programs, but I'm using MakeCode and the image in the first post shows the .uf2 of the sample Space Destroyer game I dragged and dropped on the Pygamer. Is that not correct?

Finally, here's a video of what I'm experiencing: https://photos.app.goo.gl/SPqrwVaZo25dqkRc8
Attachments
Screen Shot 2019-06-12 at 6.49.33 PM.png
Screen Shot 2019-06-12 at 6.49.33 PM.png (341.6 KiB) Viewed 998 times

rccm
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 7:47 pm

Re: Pygamer

by adafruit_support_carter on Thu Jun 13, 2019 11:43 am

Ah, I think I see what's happening. It's something pretty simple, but not obvious and therefore confusing. You need to double press the reset button to get into bootloader mode. You'll know you're in bootloader mode when you see the folder name change to PYGAMERBOOT. Then you can drag the MakeCode game UF2 to that folder.

The confusing bit is that once you do have a MakeCode game installed, you can then press reset once to get back to the same bootloader screen and load a new game UF2. The instructions are written assuming you've already loaded a game and are already in that mode. But since you currently have CircuitPython loaded, you are changing modes - from CircuitPython to MakeCode. Thus the need to double press reset.

Further - it's not that "changing modes" means "double press reset". It's just that the reset button presses needed to get into bootloader mode are different for MakeCode (once) vs. CircuitPython (twice).

Hope that helps.

adafruit_support_carter
 
Posts: 12964
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 2:45 pm

Re: Pygamer

by kevinjwalters on Thu Jun 20, 2019 11:46 am

I've been puzzled by this difference in the past too. There's also another, rarer variant of this issue where MakeCode reset behaviour is the same as CircuitPython. This seems to depend on the bootloader code on the board, not an area I had dabbled in before I came across the anomaly mentioned on Reset difference with MakeCode on CPX?

kevinjwalters
 
Posts: 432
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2017 3:15 pm

Re: Pygamer

by rccm on Thu Jun 20, 2019 2:39 pm

This solved my loading issue, so thank you! Unfortunately, now there's problem #2. I can load games on and use the A and B buttons, but the arrows joystick thingy is unresponsive. I've loaded a couple of games that require it, plus I made a simple MakeCode code. All of these use the arrow keys in the simulator, but when I load those same programs onto my Pygamer, the joystick doesn't do anything at all. (latest program I tried: https://forum.makecode.com/t/jet-pack-jenny-game/113) Thoughts? Thanks! Please see video: https://photos.app.goo.gl/41fPYAyp5bWtZvym6

adafruit_support_carter wrote:Ah, I think I see what's happening. It's something pretty simple, but not obvious and therefore confusing. You need to double press the reset button to get into bootloader mode. You'll know you're in bootloader mode when you see the folder name change to PYGAMERBOOT. Then you can drag the MakeCode game UF2 to that folder.

The confusing bit is that once you do have a MakeCode game installed, you can then press reset once to get back to the same bootloader screen and load a new game UF2. The instructions are written assuming you've already loaded a game and are already in that mode. But since you currently have CircuitPython loaded, you are changing modes - from CircuitPython to MakeCode. Thus the need to double press reset.

Further - it's not that "changing modes" means "double press reset". It's just that the reset button presses needed to get into bootloader mode are different for MakeCode (once) vs. CircuitPython (twice).

Hope that helps.

rccm
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 7:47 pm

Re: Pygamer

by adafruit_support_carter on Thu Jun 20, 2019 3:25 pm

I think you may still need to use the beta version for PyGamer joystick support. Try accessing MakeCode from here:
https://arcade.makecode.com/beta
and loading the program and see what happens.

adafruit_support_carter
 
Posts: 12964
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 2:45 pm

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.