Adafruit i2S Mic and i2S Amp connect to Raspberry Pi

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Forum rules
Talk about Adafruit Raspberry Pi® accessories! Please do not ask for Linux support, this is for Adafruit products only! For Raspberry Pi help please visit: http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/
phillip_kujawa

Adafruit i2S Mic and i2S Amp connect to Raspberry Pi

Post by phillip_kujawa »

Hey Guys,

Let me start off by saying I'm a hardware electronics novice. Recently purchased the ADAFRUIT I2S MEMS MICROPHONE BREAKOUT - SPH0645LM4H and the ADAFRUIT I2S 3W CLASS D AMPLIFIER BREAKOUT - MAX98357A for a doorbell project using my Raspberry Pi Zero. Can anyone point me in the right direction in terms of wiring these two devices to the Pi and then creating the appropriate device overlay? How can we access the devices through Python after?

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Cheers,
Phil

adafruit_support_mike

Re: Adafruit i2S Mic and i2S Amp connect to Raspberry Pi

Post by adafruit_support_mike »

The best place to start would be with the tutorials for each device:

https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-i2s ... t/overview
https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-max ... p/overview

Those explain how to handle the connections to a RasPi.

phillip_kujawa

Post by phillip_kujawa »

adafruit_support_mike wrote:The best place to start would be with the tutorials for each device:

https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-i2s ... t/overview
https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-max ... p/overview

Those explain how to handle the connections to a RasPi.
Hey Mike,

Both have similar pin selection since raspberry pi only has one set of i2s pins. Both Raspberry Pi GPIO pins 18 (BITCLOCK) and 19 (LRCLOCK) are used by both devices. Can you provide me any further insight on how to wire these two devices to the Pi and how I can get both devices working simultaneously.

Thanks,
Phil

adafruit_support_mike

Sorry for the delay in getting back to you.