0

Installed Ultimate GPS Breakout, but gpsd gives me "Satellit
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Forum rules
Talk about Adafruit Raspberry Pi® accessories! Please do not ask for Linux support, this is for Adafruit products only! For Raspberry Pi help please visit: http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/
Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Installed Ultimate GPS Breakout, but gpsd gives me "Satellit

by Oklahomer on Tue Jul 08, 2014 11:11 am

I just got my Ultimate GPS Breakout, last weekend. I connected it to my Raspberry Pi and installed required packages by following this tutorial. To free USB ports, I chose UART instead of using USB to TTL adapter cable.

Then I tried gpsd and here is what I got.
Code: Select all | TOGGLE FULL SIZE
pi@raspberrypi ~ $ sudo gpsd /dev/ttyAMA0 -N -D3 -F /var/run/gpsd.sock
gpsd:INFO: launching (Version 3.6)
gpsd:ERROR: can't create IPv6 socket
gpsd:INFO: listening on port gpsd
gpsd:INFO: NTPD ntpd_link_activate: 1
gpsd:INFO: stashing device /dev/ttyAMA0 at slot 0
gpsd:INFO: running with effective group ID 20
gpsd:INFO: running with effective user ID 65534
gpsd:INFO: startup at 2014-07-08T12:42:12.000Z (1404823332)
gpsd:INFO: opening GPS data source type 2 at '/dev/ttyAMA0'
gpsd:INFO: speed 9600, 8N1
gpsd:INFO: speed 9600, 8O1
gpsd:INFO: speed 9600, 8N1
gpsd:INFO: gpsd_activate(): activated GPS (fd 7)
gpsd:INFO: /dev/ttyAMA0 identified as type Generic NMEA (0.735407 sec @ 9600bps)
gpsd:DATA: GGA: hhmmss=124252.084 lat=nan lon=nan alt=nan mode=0 status=0
gpsd:DATA: packet from /dev/ttyAMA0 with {ONLINE|STATUS|PACKET|DRIVER}
gpsd:DATA: GPGSA: mode=1 used=0 pdop=0.00 hdop=0.00 vdop=0.00
gpsd:DATA: packet from /dev/ttyAMA0 with {ONLINE|MODE|DOP|PACKET|USED}
gpsd:DATA: RMC: ddmmyy=080714 hhmmss=124252.084 lat=nan lon=nan speed=nan track=nan mode=0 status=0
gpsd:DATA: packet from /dev/ttyAMA0 with {ONLINE|PACKET}
gpsd:DATA: packet from /dev/ttyAMA0 with {ONLINE|PACKET}
gpsd:INFO: detaching 127.0.0.1 (sub 0, fd 6) in detach_client

gpsd:WARN: Satellite data no good (1 of 1).
gpsd:DATA: packet from /dev/ttyAMA0 with {ONLINE|PACKET}
gpsd:DATA: RMC: ddmmyy=080714 hhmmss=124259.084 lat=nan lon=nan speed=nan track=nan mode=0 status=0
gpsd:DATA: packet from /dev/ttyAMA0 with {ONLINE|PACKET}
gpsd:DATA: packet from /dev/ttyAMA0 with {ONLINE|PACKET}
gpsd:DATA: RMC: ddmmyy=080714 hhmmss=124306.084 lat=nan lon=nan speed=nan track=nan mode=0 status=0
gpsd:DATA: packet from /dev/ttyAMA0 with {ONLINE|PACKET}
gpsd:DATA: packet from /dev/ttyAMA0 with {ONLINE|PACKET}
gpsd:WARN: unknown sentence: "$PMTK705,AXN_2.10_3339_2012072601,5223,PA6H,1.0*6A\x0d\x0a"
gpsd:DATA: packet from /dev/ttyAMA0 with {ONLINE|DEVICEID|PACKET}
gpsd:DATA: GGA: hhmmss=124307.084 lat=nan lon=nan alt=nan mode=0 status=0
gpsd:DATA: packet from /dev/ttyAMA0 with {ONLINE|STATUS|PACKET|DRIVER}
gpsd:DATA: GPGSA: mode=1 used=0 pdop=0.00 hdop=0.00 vdop=0.00
gpsd:DATA: packet from /dev/ttyAMA0 with {ONLINE|MODE|DOP|PACKET|USED}
gpsd:DATA: RMC: ddmmyy=080714 hhmmss=124307.084 lat=nan lon=nan speed=nan track=nan mode=0 status=0
gpsd:DATA: packet from /dev/ttyAMA0 with {ONLINE|PACKET}
gpsd:DATA: packet from /dev/ttyAMA0 with {ONLINE|PACKET}
gpsd:DATA: GGA: hhmmss=124308.084 lat=nan lon=nan alt=nan mode=0 status=0
gpsd:DATA: packet from /dev/ttyAMA0 with {ONLINE|STATUS|PACKET}
gpsd:DATA: GPGSA: mode=1 used=0 pdop=0.00 hdop=0.00 vdop=0.00
gpsd:DATA: packet from /dev/ttyAMA0 with {ONLINE|MODE|DOP|PACKET|USED}
gpsd:DATA: RMC: ddmmyy=080714 hhmmss=124308.084 lat=nan lon=nan speed=nan track=nan mode=0 status=0
gpsd:DATA: packet from /dev/ttyAMA0 with {ONLINE|PACKET}
gpsd:DATA: packet from /dev/ttyAMA0 with {ONLINE|PACKET}
gpsd:DATA: GGA: hhmmss=124309.084 lat=nan lon=nan alt=nan mode=0 status=0
gpsd:DATA: packet from /dev/ttyAMA0 with {ONLINE|STATUS|PACKET}
gpsd:DATA: GPGSA: mode=1 used=0 pdop=0.00 hdop=0.00 vdop=0.00
gpsd:DATA: packet from /dev/ttyAMA0 with {ONLINE|MODE|DOP|PACKET|USED}
gpsd:WARN: Satellite data no good (1 of 1).

Although accurate time shows up, it keeps saying "Satellite data no good" and lat, lon and alt don't show up. The FIX LED on GPS module is blinking and seems O.K.

'cgps -s' gives no information and when I try to see what's in /dev/ttyAMA0, it goes as below.
Code: Select all | TOGGLE FULL SIZE
pi@raspberrypi ~ $ sudo cat /dev/ttyAMA0
$GPGGA,140935.879,,,,,0,0,,,M,,M,,*44

$GPGSA,A,1,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,*1E

$GPRMC,140935.879,V,,,,,0.00,0.00,080714,,,N*4B

$GPVTG,0.00,T,,M,0.00,N,0.00,K,N*32

$GPGGA,140935.879,,,,,0,0,,,M,,M,,*44


 ????$GPGSA,A,1,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,*1E
,,M,,*44



 ????$GPRMC,140935.879,V,,,,,0.00,0.00,080714,,,N*4B

It doesn't give me $GPGLL and it looks totally different from what I've found on the web.

So far I'm guessing GPS module is properly soldered to header pins and UART setting is O.K. since I'm at least getting some data including time. The GPS module is placed by the opened window so placement seems fine to me. Can someone tell me what else I should be checking for further debug?

Thanks in advance.

Oklahomer
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 10:31 am

Re: Installed Ultimate GPS Breakout, but gpsd gives me "Sate

by adafruit_support_rick on Tue Jul 08, 2014 12:21 pm

According to the data you posted, your GPS does not have a fix. The FIX LED will blink about once/second when there is NOT fix. It will blink about once every 15 seconds when there is a fix.

It looks like you are getting mostly good data, but there is some garbage in there as well. You may have a bad connection. Please post clear, detailed pictures of both sides of the breakout, showing your soldering.

adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 34841
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:42 am
Location: Buffalo, NY

Re: Installed Ultimate GPS Breakout, but gpsd gives me "Sate

by Oklahomer on Wed Jul 09, 2014 9:38 am

Thanks for your reply.

I attached some photos of my breakout.
Correct me if I'm wrong, but I thought this breakout would have a FIXed data if this get sufficient power supply from VIN pin and then FIX LED would show FIX status. And when connection is bad(e.g. GND, RX and/or TX pins), my Raspberry Pi's receiving data could be broken like my case. Still now FIX LED is giving me non-fix status: it blinks like every second. Should I be guessing it's not getting enough power from VIN pin? Sorry if it's pointless. I'm pretty new at this.
Attachments
photo 2 (1).JPG
photo 2 (1).JPG (449.1 KiB) Viewed 529 times
photo 1 (1).JPG
photo 1 (1).JPG (557.65 KiB) Viewed 529 times

Oklahomer
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 10:31 am

Re: Installed Ultimate GPS Breakout, but gpsd gives me "Sate

by Oklahomer on Wed Jul 09, 2014 9:59 am

Here goes some follow-ups.
After taking some pictures I placed my breakout to different part of breadboard.
Breakout doesn't give me FIX status yet, but 'sudo cat /dev/ttyAMA0' gives me readable message now.
$GPGLL is not still showing up and 'cgps -s' tells me nothing, though.
So the connection between breakout and Raspberry Pi is O.K. now, but breakout is not getting FIXed position, right?
Code: Select all | TOGGLE FULL SIZE
pi@raspberrypi ~ $ sudo cat /dev/ttyAMA0
$GPGGA,000157.800,,,,,0,0,,,M,,M,,*43
$GPGSA,A,1,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,*1E
$GPRMC,000157.800,V,,,,,0.00,0.00,060180,,,N*49
$GPVTG,0.00,T,,M,0.00,N,0.00,K,N*32
$GPGGA,000158.800,,,,,0,0,,,M,,M,,*4C
$GPGSA,A,1,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,*1E
$GPRMC,000158.800,V,,,,,0.00,0.00,060180,,,N*46
$GPVTG,0.00,T,,M,0.00,N,0.00,K,N*32
$GPGGA,000159.800,,,,,0,0,,,M,,M,,*4D
$GPGSA,A,1,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,*1E
$GPGSV,1,1,00*79
$GPRMC,000159.800,V,,,,,0.00,0.00,060180,,,N*47
$GPVTG,0.00,T,,M,0.00,N,0.00,K,N*32
$GPGGA,000200.800,,,,,0,0,,,M,,M,,*42
$GPGSA,A,1,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,*1E
$GPRMC,000200.800,V,,,,,0.00,0.00,060180,,,N*48
$GPVTG,0.00,T,,M,0.00,N,0.00,K,N*32
$GPGGA,000201.800,,,,,0,0,,,M,,M,,*43
$GPGSA,A,1,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,*1E
$GPRMC,000201.800,V,,,,,0.00,0.00,060180,,,N*49
$GPVTG,0.00,T,,M,0.00,N,0.00,K,N*32
$GPGGA,000202.800,,,,,0,0,,,M,,M,,*40
$GPGSA,A,1,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,*1E
$GPRMC,000202.800,V,,,,,0.00,0.00,060180,,,N*4A
$GPVTG,0.00,T,,M,0.00,N,0.00,K,N*32
$GPGGA,000203.800,,,,,0,0,,,M,,M,,*41
$GPGSA,A,1,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,*1E
$GPRMC,000203.800,V,,,,,0.00,0.00,060180,,,N*4B
$GPVTG,0.00,T,,M,0.00,N,0.00,K,N*32
$GPGGA,000204.800,,,,,0,0,,,M,,M,,*46
$GPGSA,A,1,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,*1E
$GPGSV,1,1,00*79
$GPRMC,000204.800,V,,,,,0.00,0.00,060180,,,N*4C
$GPVTG,0.00,T,,M,0.00,N,0.00,K,N*32
$GPGGA,000205.800,,,,,0,0,,,M,,M,,*47
$GPGSA,A,1,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,*1E
$GPRMC,000205.800,V,,,,,0.00,0.00,060180,,,N*4D
$GPVTG,0.00,T,,M,0.00,N,0.00,K,N*32
$GPGGA,000206.800,,,,,0,0,,,M,,M,,*44

Oklahomer
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 10:31 am

Re: Installed Ultimate GPS Breakout, but gpsd gives me "Sate

by adafruit_support_rick on Wed Jul 09, 2014 10:16 am

Oklahomer wrote:breakout is not getting FIXed position, right?

Correct. You can see that in the GPRMC sentence. The 'V' indicates no fix. When you have a fix, that will change to 'A'

adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 34841
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:42 am
Location: Buffalo, NY

Re: Installed Ultimate GPS Breakout, but gpsd gives me "Sate

by Oklahomer on Wed Jul 09, 2014 10:51 am

Thanks for your immediate response. It's really helping me keeping myself motivated and focused.
I'm feeling better now because I can see some progress on my project, but could you tell me what I can do to get red of the 'V' and have 'A' instead?
Again I'm stuck here and have no clue what I can do to fix this problem.

Oklahomer
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 10:31 am

Re: Installed Ultimate GPS Breakout, but gpsd gives me "Sate

by adafruit_support_rick on Wed Jul 09, 2014 12:08 pm

You need to move the GPS module to someplace where it has a clear, unobstructed view of the sky. If you can';t take it outside, at least put it in a window.

It will also help to install the backup battery. Once it gets an initial fix, it will get a fix more quickly the next time you power it up if you have the backup battery installed

adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 34841
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:42 am
Location: Buffalo, NY

Re: Installed Ultimate GPS Breakout, but gpsd gives me "Sate

by Oklahomer on Thu Jul 10, 2014 8:36 am

I've always set my GPS module by a window, but this time I set it outside.
In 2 or 3 minutes it finally got a fixed data like below.
Code: Select all | TOGGLE FULL SIZE
┌───────────────────────────────────────────┐┌─────────────────────────────────┐
│    Time:       2014-07-10T12:26:33.000Z   ││PRN:   Elev:  Azim:  SNR:  Used: │
│    Latitude:    XX.XXXXXX N               ││ 193    84    327    28      Y   │
│    Longitude:  XXX.XXXXXX E               ││   4    67    049    30      Y   │
│    Altitude:   XX.X ft                    ││   6    61    335    40      Y   │
│    Speed:      0.3 mph                    ││  10    59    261    21      Y   │
│    Heading:    7.5 deg (true)             ││  13    50    096    00      Y   │
│    Climb:      0.0 ft/min                 ││   2    30    303    36      N   │
│    Status:     3D FIX (6 secs)            ││  12    14    300    36      N   │
│    Longitude Err:   +/- 59 ft             ││  38    00    000    00      N   │
│    Latitude Err:    +/- 118 ft            ││                                 │
│    Altitude Err:    +/- 73 ft             ││                                 │
│    Course Err:      n/a                   ││                                 │
│    Speed Err:       +/- 161 mph           ││                                 │
│    Time offset:     0.530                 ││                                 │
│    Grid Square:     PM95ur                ││                                 │
└───────────────────────────────────────────┘└─────────────────────────────────┘

Thanks for your advise!!
I'm planning to set this in a car so I might need to get an external antenna.
This one looks good to me.

Again, I appreciate your support. It helped me fix this problem.

Oklahomer
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 10:31 am

Re: Installed Ultimate GPS Breakout, but gpsd gives me "Sate

by adafruit_support_rick on Thu Jul 10, 2014 9:20 am

If you get the external antenna, you'll also need this adapter:
https://www.adafruit.com/products/851

adafruit_support_rick
 
Posts: 34841
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:42 am
Location: Buffalo, NY

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.