PWM Frequency Not Correct

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Forum rules
Talk about Adafruit Raspberry Pi® accessories! Please do not ask for Linux support, this is for Adafruit products only! For Raspberry Pi help please visit: http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/
jmtoys

PWM Frequency Not Correct

Post by jmtoys »

Hi All:
I'm a noob here, so I am probably missing something basic. I have the Adafruit 16 channel 12-bit PWM HAT connected to my RPi 3. I have loaded the recommended software, git clone https://github.com/adafruit/Adafruit_python_PCA9685.git. I tried the example simpletest.py, and it worked to move the servo, but the frequency seems to be off by about 14.5%. The frequency is supposed to be 60 Hz, but it is actually about 67 Hz as measured with my oscilloscope. I also tried a different frequency (1000 Hz) and it was also off by about 14.5% (actually measured 1147 Hz). Is there something that I am doing wrong?
Thanks,
John

jmtoys

Re: PWM Frequency Not Correct

Post by jmtoys »

Follow-up:
I did some research on the PCA9685 that Adafruit uses. This IC is fixed to 12-bt operation. You also cannot preload the PCA9685 counter, which would be great since you could account for almost any error. So, no matter what you want to do, you will always end up with a prescaler that needs to be rational. Unfortunately, the prescaler can only be integer, and since you cannot preload the counter you will always end up with error in the PWM frequency. For example, if you want a freq. of 1000 Hz you would need to prescale the 25 MHz source by 25,000. Which is impossible since you divide by 4096. The refresh rate = 25 MHz / (4096 x (prescale + 1)). So, since you can never obtain a nice whole number for the refresh rate there will always be some kind of error in your PWM freq.

adafruit_support_mike

Post by adafruit_support_mike »

The PCA9685's frequency adjustments do have some granularity, yes. There will also be variation in the built-in 25MHz oscillator.