Due to high demand, expect some shipping delays at this time - orders may not ship for up to 2-3 business days.
0

Flora not showing in serial ports
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Flora not showing in serial ports

by jhblacklock on Mon Jan 17, 2022 9:10 pm

I have recently purchased a flora controller and have not been successful in getting it up and running using the arduino IDE. I have tried a dozen different USB cables (including one I purchased from adafruit), two different macs, and one Linux machine. I have been able to use the IDE with my MEGA but this flora has eluded me. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

jhblacklock
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2022 8:05 pm

Re: Flora not showing in serial ports

by dastels on Mon Jan 17, 2022 11:09 pm

Simplest question first... is the switch set to "ON"?

Dave

dastels
 
Posts: 9757
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 3:22 pm

Re: Flora not showing in serial ports

by dastels on Mon Jan 17, 2022 11:10 pm

Along with that... are any lights lit on the Flora when connected via USB?

Dave

dastels
 
Posts: 9757
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 3:22 pm

Re: Flora not showing in serial ports

by jhblacklock on Tue Jan 18, 2022 8:01 am

Thanks for the reply. Yes, the switch is on and there is a green light.

jhblacklock
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2022 8:05 pm

Re: Flora not showing in serial ports

by dastels on Tue Jan 18, 2022 9:45 am

I had to ask. It's always nice when that's all it is. Easy enough since few boards actually have a power switch.

So the board is getting power. You've ruled out the cable being a problem. There's not much else... it's a pretty basic board/MCU. Let's try a new one.

Please email support@adafruit.com with a link to this thread, your order number, and request the replacement of one Flora.

Dave

dastels
 
Posts: 9757
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 3:22 pm

Re: Flora not showing in serial ports

by jhblacklock on Tue Jan 18, 2022 9:57 am

That’s a good triage tactic! I wish it was something like that too. Thank you for the support.

jhblacklock
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2022 8:05 pm

Re: Flora not showing in serial ports

by jhblacklock on Thu Jan 27, 2022 10:48 am

@dastels, I have the same problem after I received my replacement flora. The controller does not show in ports nor does it appear in system info on the USB Hub. The attached screenshot shows the sys info with the flora plugged in (and turned on) and the Serial Ports item grayed out in the IDE. Is there another tactic I can try out? Thanks!
Attachments
Screen Shot 2022-01-27 at 8.42.41 AM.png
Serial Ports item grayed out in the IDE
Screen Shot 2022-01-27 at 8.42.41 AM.png (342.53 KiB) Viewed 98 times
Screen Shot 2022-01-27 at 8.39.15 AM.png
sys info with the flora plugged in
Screen Shot 2022-01-27 at 8.39.15 AM.png (217.33 KiB) Viewed 98 times

jhblacklock
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2022 8:05 pm

Re: Flora not showing in serial ports

by dastels on Thu Jan 27, 2022 1:46 pm

Argh!

Are you running any anti-virus software?
Might it be a permissions issue?

I know you said you tried different machines and cables so I figured it was the Flora.

I'll see what else I can find out.

Dave

dastels
 
Posts: 9757
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 3:22 pm

Re: Flora not showing in serial ports

by franklin97355 on Thu Jan 27, 2022 2:55 pm

You might try a USB hub that provides a USB 2.0 connection. Macs and Flora are sometimes picky with talking to each other. Just a thought.

franklin97355
 
Posts: 22604
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:33 pm
Location: Lacomb, OR.

Re: Flora not showing in serial ports

by adafruit2 on Thu Jan 27, 2022 6:33 pm

also do any light appear on the flora when plugged in? if so which...just cause this is a bit odd :)

adafruit2
Site Admin
 
Posts: 20869
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2005 7:36 pm

Re: Flora not showing in serial ports

by jhblacklock on Thu Jan 27, 2022 9:49 pm

Thank you @franklin97355 and @adafruit2. I tried using a USB 2.0 and 2.1 hub. I do not run any virus protection or firewall. Should the dev folder have any specific permissions? Or am I looking for a special tty input? I only have tty<num>, and the Bluetooth input.

The power light is the only one on.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2022-01-27 at 7.13.11 PM.png
Sys Info USB 2.0
Screen Shot 2022-01-27 at 7.13.11 PM.png (284.62 KiB) Viewed 81 times

jhblacklock
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2022 8:05 pm

Re: Flora not showing in serial ports

by adafruit2 on Fri Jan 28, 2022 2:18 am

hmm we'll check some stock tomorrow - the ON/OFF switch is ON right? :)

adafruit2
Site Admin
 
Posts: 20869
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2005 7:36 pm

Re: Flora not showing in serial ports

by adafruit2 on Fri Jan 28, 2022 2:34 pm

our stock looks fine - for both of them you're really not getting the red light blinking? if you press the reset button, the red light doesnt pulse on/off?

adafruit2
Site Admin
 
Posts: 20869
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2005 7:36 pm

Re: Flora not showing in serial ports

by jhblacklock on Fri Jan 28, 2022 8:04 pm

The on switch is "on", and I do not get any reset button event, like blinking. My next step is to start from scratch. I purchased a USB cable from you and I have also used around a dozen different cables I have laying around the house. I do not have any peripherals to validate that the cables have the data connection, however. I will need to buy some device... a mouse perhaps? What cheap validation peripheral do you recommend? Other than your USB cable, is there one you are positive that works that I should get off of Amazon or another vendor?

jhblacklock
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2022 8:05 pm

Re: Flora not showing in serial ports

by adafruit2 on Fri Jan 28, 2022 9:05 pm

hmm so odd - ok we can replace it. email support@adafruit - they'll give you one we KNOW works (tell them this too :)

adafruit2
Site Admin
 
Posts: 20869
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2005 7:36 pm

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.