Help Creating Vibrating Collar for Deaf Blind Puppy

Wearable electronics: boards, conductive materials, and projects from Adafruit!

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
seatec

Help Creating Vibrating Collar for Deaf Blind Puppy

Post by seatec »

Hello everyone! I will start by saying I am not an engineer and def do not know all the proper terminology to use, but after hours of searching for a solution for my puppy, found this forum and you all look like you can point me in the right direction quickly. I need help with a deaf and blind puppy to help him have a fulfilling life.

Here is his story and what I am looking for. As of writing this, Brewer is 4 weeks old. We realized he might have sight problems about a week ago. becaus puppy eeysight and hearing develops slowly from 2-8 weeks, it is hard to detect, but because we really work with our pups to get them ready for service training, w noticed it. He is still highly inttellignt, and even finds his way to the potty area, even at 4 weeks. His senses are still developing and you can tell he is learning to use smell a little quicker than his siblings. As fa as we can tell, he can tell light and dark, bit that is it, and seems to have no hearing, but can "feel" some sound.

Because of not havin either of the two senses, hearing or sight, he wil need special training, and there is not much out there for both deaf and blind dogs that are this wy from birth. It is rare for it to even be detected this early, so we have a chance to really help him and do something special to possibly help other special need dogs as well, so that they are not cast aside, euthanized, or left to live in a dark, silent world with no love or fullfillment.