Black Lives Matter - Action and Equality. ... Adafruit is open and shipping.

LED guitar fingerboard
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

LED guitar fingerboard

by Rymano on Fri Dec 20, 2019 5:30 pm

I'm looking to wire the DotStar Micro LEDs (APA102–2020) under a bass fingerboard to backlight the side and face dots with some 4 conductor ribbon cable (0.5mm pitch). I'm rather new to most of this tech but have a basic idea of where to start. Would like to hear any alternative LED options to consider before taking the plunge. Also the possibility of running 2mm fiber optic cable from the center dot/LED to illuminate the side markers. Lastly - what are the maintenance risks if one goes out...

Thanks a million in advance!
Attachments
LED fretboard.jpg
LED fretboard.jpg (23.34 KiB) Viewed 246 times

Rymano

Re: LED guitar fingerboard

by adafruit_support_bill on Sat Dec 21, 2019 8:36 am

Lastly - what are the maintenance risks if one goes out...

We'll take the last one first. Since it raises a number of related issues:

Is this a retrofit project, or are you building this up now? How do you plan to integrate the leds into the fingerboard and how will the fingerboard be attached to the neck?

Assuming that the fingerboard will be glued to the neck, you might be able to find a suitable thermal release adhesive that would allow removal for maintenance if needed.