Help! Can't upload code to trinket. no blinking red led

Adafruit's tiny microcontroller platform. Please tell us which board you are using.
For CircuitPython issues, ask in the Adafruit CircuitPython forum.

Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.
Pablothehun27

Help! Can't upload code to trinket. no blinking red led

Post by Pablothehun27 »

I am at my wits end. I have been over 20 hours trying to upload a code to the trinket 3v and haven't had any success. I have read, re read, re re read all the tutorials. Tried 10 different cables 4 PC's 2 USB 2.0 hubs. No blinking red led, just fading red. Endless usbtiny error!! I need these two working for next weekend and now im extremely disappointed. Just trying to get one neopixel ring to work. thats it! What can i do different? are both these faulty? I'm new to this but this just seems ridiculus the errors i'm having..

XRAD

Re: Help! Can't upload code to trinket. no blinking red led

Post by XRAD »

have to ask the obvious:
0) a good functioning USB port (with win10 OS is helpful)

1) In your IDE, do you have the Trinket 3.3v board selected? not just any trinket will work

2) when you boot the board, is it seen as a serial port: com #?

3) have to use the tinyUSBISP programmer.

4) did you hit the boot button on the trinket BEFORE uploading code? has to be blinking then hit upload on your IDE. (reset single click/ bootloader double click). Load window (blinking red led) will run for about 10 sec, then it's too late and you have to reload again.

5) it's possible that the bootloader is corrupted. You can repair following adafruit tutorial:
https://learn.adafruit.com/introducing- ... bootloader

once connected, the rest is just coding and basic neopixel code will be easy for you to compile!
Last edited by XRAD on Wed Mar 20, 2019 8:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Pablothehun27

Post by Pablothehun27 »

Thank you for a reply!