Trinket 5v not seen by Windows 10 (total noob here).
Moderators: adafruit_support_bill, adafruit

Please be positive and constructive with your questions and comments.

Trinket 5v not seen by Windows 10 (total noob here).

by jruzic on Thu Apr 04, 2019 3:38 am

I bought the Neopixel Goggle kit. This is my first build. I have set up Arduino and I have everything put together.

However, for the life of me I cannot get the trinket 5v into bootmode. Yes I am using usb 2.0 and yes I have used multiple cables and computers. I am running Windows 10. I did see an article about forcing a reboot, and no I did not try it because it makes no sense to me (because this is my first build).

Any help here?

If anyone from the company sees this. Why would you send outdated hardware with a kit? People that are heavily into this kind of stuff are probably not buying your kits. It is the noobs like me. You specifically say it is far easier on your site using trinket mo and you do not recommend using the 5v since it is being phased out ... yet you sell it in this kit ...

jruzic

Re: Trinket 5v not seen by Windows 10 (total noob here).

by adafruit_support_bill on Thu Apr 04, 2019 8:20 am

If you open the DeviceManager on Windows, do you see any activity when you plug in the Trinket? How about when you press the reset button?

adafruit_support_bill

by jruzic on Thu Apr 04, 2019 3:15 pm

Hi, I just tried that but I did not see any activity or changes on the device manager. I also did hit the reset button and this also did nothing.

jruzic

by XRAD on Thu Apr 04, 2019 3:32 pm

My build kit was the goggles kit too, cool build.

1) plug the trinket into USB and press the reset button once. does the trinket red led change pattern? OK, should blink relatively fast for about 10 sec. For me, that is the 'time in which to upload yoru arduino sketch' when #2 below has been completed.